Last Updated: Feb 18, 2016
- Browse the pocket parts
The pocket parts and supplements to the family law TREATISES and PRACTICE HANDBOOKS in the NY ALCOVE will alert you to new developments and emerging issues in the law.
- Make note of the NYS Bills
Do a WORD SEARCH for BILLS introduced in the NY Legislature. Try searching for "family" or "domestic" or "child" OR "children" or other words.
- Search the blogs
Examine the results for this Google Blog Search:
"new york state" law (family OR child OR domestic OR marriage OR divorce)
and try some other searches!
- Browse the legal blogs (Blawgs)
Scan the most recent postings of family law blogs at the Justia site.
- Search for Tweets
See the results for this Twitter Search: ny law child
and try additional searches here (or in the search box at TOP RIGHT of screen):
- Examine NY laws compared to other states'
For example, examine the
Statutory Summary Charts (50 states- statutes regarding domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking, dating violence and trafficking) from the ABA Commission on Domestic & Sexual Violence.
SEE ALSO: Comparative (State) Family Law box (on this page)
- Search News Resources
List of databases -- Newspapers Online (UB resource guide)
- BNA Family Law Reporter
Scroll down and click on "Family Law Reporter." Search and browse this BNA resource for news and issues in family law nationwide.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
SELECT A TOPIC of interest, then CLICK ON A CATEGORY, then FILTER using choices in LEFT FRAME).
International Environmental law-related topics include:
Energy and Environmentalism (
- Family Law in the 50 States (Family Law Quarterly)
These charts are updated annually and summarize the laws in the 50 states.
Chart 1: Alimony/Spousal Support Factors
Chart 2: Custody Criteria
Chart 3: Child Support Guidelines
Chart 4: Grounds for Divorce and Residency Requirements
Chart 5: Property Division
Chart 6: Third-Party Visitation
Note: Must be ABA member to access.
- Family Law in the Fifty States (Family Law Quarterly)
Results of HeinOnline Law Journal database search:"fifty states" AND "Family Law Quarterly". Full text of Family Law Quarterly is on HeinOnline.
- Statutory Summary Charts (ABA Commission...Domestic Violence...))
Statutory Summary Charts from the ABA Commission on Domestic & Sexual Violence (50 states- covering statutes regarding domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking, dating violence and trafficking.)
- Guttmacher Institute -- State Center
50-state charts on laws. Legal and policy factsheets on individual states covering: abortion, adolescents, contraception, pregnancy, and services and financing.
- Child Support and Family Law Legislation Database
(National Conference of State Legislatures)
Includes filed bills-- "... Search passed, pending and failed legislation and executive orders from 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014 legislation by state, year, topic, keyword, status, and/or primary sponsor. Topics relate to custody and visitation, economic stability, enforcement, family violence collaboration, father engagement, guidelines, health care coverage, prevention, healthy family relationships, implementation, and other related issues. "
NCSL site covers other topics as well.
- 50-State Searchable Bill Databases (National Conference of State Legislatures)
Covers many topics including:
Child Support and Family Law
Early Care and Education
Federal Issues | Human Services
Hunger and Nutrition
Same Sex Marriage
Welfare and Poverty
- Child Welfare Enacted Legislation Database (National Conference of State Legislatures)
Covers MANY specific topics. Links to state codes on the Web.
- Child Welfare Information Gateway - State Statute Search
(U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services)
Covers specific topics in the areas of:
Child Abuse and Neglect
- State Stalking Laws
(National Center for Victims of Crime)
Criminal and civil laws by state and more.
- Summary of U.S. State Laws Related to Advocate Confidentiality
domestic violence victims
- Subject Compilations of State Laws (1960 - present)
in HeinOnline. (UB only)
Search or browse index. Locates law review articles and other legal publications that list state code citations on specific topics. Will refer user to EXACT footnote where state code references are listed.