This is the "Books, Articles & More" page of the "International Human Rights of Women -- Web Resources (FREE)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Human Rights of Women -- Web Resources (FREE)   Tags: human rights, reproductive rights, women's rights  

Resources on the international human rights of women, including reproductive rights.
Last Updated: Oct 13, 2015 URL: http://lawlib.buffalo.libguides.com/HumanRightsWomen Print Guide RSS Updates

Books, Articles & More Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide

This Guide refers to FREE (or open source) resources on the Web.

Visiting a university, public or other library may lead you to additional resources available only via subscription.  Be sure to talk to a librarian to find out what resources are available!

 

Identify Books and Other Materials

Once you have located relevant books and other materials, consult your university or local library to obtain a copy.

WorldCat.org (free version)
Search all at once the collections of  thousands of libraries around the world.

Library Online Catalogs From Around the World
Identify and search individually the online catalogs of libraries around the world.

Google Book Search 
Search the full text of books. Locate identified books in libraries... 

Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Open access graduate theses and dissertations from over 600 institutions published around the world.

University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO)
Offers12,000+ titles (many in  full-text), available in 25 subject areas, from Oxford and 12 other leading university presses from around the world.

 

Identify Scholarly Articles

INDEXES

Law: index to journals

Current Law Journal Content (Index only; mostly NOT full text)
Note: Updating ceased in May 2011. The resources from 2000-April 2011 are still searchable.

 Free Full-Text Online Law Review/Journal Search (ABA; Google Custom Search Engine) FREE
Searches the free full-text of over 400 online law reviews and law journals, plus document repositories hosting academic papers and related publications. Several are available online only.Coverage varies. Includes list of reviews/journals/document repositories which have free full-text available online, but which must be searched/browsed manually.

Medicine: index to journals


PubMed (free version of Medline index; some free full text articles)
                     search PubMed for
CDC assisted reproductive technology
                     search PubMed for reproductive rights

 

Multiple Subjects: search engines w/ access to full text journals

POPLINE
"(POPulation information onLINE) contains citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues....POPLINE has nearly 370,000 records" , the majority published from 1970 to the present. Some articles in full text.

Google Scholar Search
Search the full text of scholarly articles and other materials.

DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals
          including:
          
Duke Journal of Gender Law & Policy
          Gender Forum
          Global Health Action
          Human Rights & Human Welfare
          Journal of Law & Family Studies
          Journal of International Women’s Studies
          Reproductive Health
          Wagadu : a Journal of Transnational Women's & Gender Studies

 Open J-Gate
          including:
          
Australian Journal of Gender and Law
          Duke Journal of Gender Law & Policy 

          First Peoples Child & Family Review
          Harvard Human Rights Journal
          Harvard Journal of Law & Gender

          International Journal of Gender, Science and Technology
          International Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health
          Journal of International Women's Studies
          Scholar & Feminist Online
          Wagadu, Journal of Transnational Women's and Gender Studies
          Women's Health and Urban Life
                    and many others…

Open Journal Systems
            including:
            Journal of Family and Reproductive Health
            Women in Judaism: A Multidisciplinary Journal
            Atlantis: A Women's Studies Journal
            Health and Human Rights: An International Journal
            Goettingen Journal of International Law
            Journal of Law, Policy and Globalization

            Merkourios - Utrecht Journal of International and European Law 
            Revista Digital de Direito Publico (Public Law Digital Journal)
            Journal of Legal Analysis


             

African Journals Online (AJOL)        

 

                  

 JOURNALS

Additional specific journals:

American University Journal of Gender, Social Policy, & the Law (excerpts of back issues)
Berkeley Journal of Gender, Law & Justice  (Full text beginning 2010;Table of contents for earlier issues)

Law reviews online:

Other law reviews online (full text) (Library of Congress list)

Free Full-Text Online Law Review/Journal Search (ABA; Google Custom Search Engine) FREE
Searches the free full-text of over 400 online law reviews and law journals, plus document repositories hosting academic papers and related publications. Several are available online only.Coverage varies. Includes list of reviews/journals/document repositories which have free full-text available online, but which must be searched/browsed manually.

Syllabi

 

Research Guides

Research Guide Sites
Examine or search these sites for relevant resources.

 LLRX (Law Library Resource Xchange)- Foreign and Comparative Law

Globalex

 ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law

Women’s Human Rights Research Guides & Bibliographies (U Toronto)

 Women's Human Rights Resources Database (U. Toronto)
               see Reproductive Rights (articles, documents, links)
        

A Few Specific Guides/Bibliographies

 
Women's International Human Rights (UB)

 Women in International Law: Research Sources (L. Louis-Jacques,U. Chicago)

 Transnational and Comparative Family Law: Harmonization and Implementation  (Marylin Johnson Raisch; Updated 2013)

 International Family Law: A Selective Resource Guide (2000)

 Human Rights -- Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law (ASIL)

 United Nations -- Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law (ASIL)

 Honour Crimes Project (Centre of Islamic and Middle Eastern Laws)

 Feminist Sexual Ethics Project (Brandeis University)
Covers: Marriage and divorce; Dating; Sexual orientation; Family; Women's rights; Family planning; Sex education; Sexual harassment; Rape; Child sexual abuse; Clergy sexual misconduct; Sex workers; Trafficking in women. Includes:
---Slavery, Religion and Sexual Ethics 
---Jewish Sexual Ethics
---Muslim Sexual Ethics
 
---Christian Sexual Ethics 
---Resources

 European Human Rights System (Columbia U.)

LSRJ Wiki (Law Students for Reproductive Justice)
The Resource Guide is a compilation of law journal articles, media articles cases, books, films, and television shows on issues pertaining to reproductive health, rights, and justice. Open the PDF files to view extensive materials. 

 

Look for Encyclopedia Articles

 Wikigender (UN)
 
http://www.wikigender.org
          Try searching reproductive
"... a project initiated by the OECD Development Centre to facilitate the exchange and improve the knowledge on gender equality-related issues around the world. A particular focus lies on gathering empirical evidence and identifying adequate statistics to measure gender equality. Based on the work of the OECD Gender, Institutions and Development Data Base, Wikigender aims to highlight the importance of social institutions such as norms, traditions and cultural practices that impact on women's empowerment. ..."
Click on TOPICS or scroll to bottom and see "Explore Categories"
Gategories include:
Campaigns
Governance and Civic Engagement
Networks
Social Norms
Community Portal
Health
Organisations
Society and Culture
Economy and Finance
Human Well-Being
Partners
Publications
Statistics
Education and Skills
Initiatives
Peace and Security
Violence Against Women
Employment
Innovation and Technology
Research
Wikigender University
Environment
Laws
Science
Youth
Gender Equality Theory
Migration

 

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
http://plato.stanford.edu/
A search for reproductive rights  leads to entries including:
            Parenthood and Procreation
            Cloning
            Feminist Perspectives on Reproduction and the Family
            Pregnancy, Birth, and Medicine
            Feminist Bioethics
            Feminist Philosophy of Law
            Human Rights 
            and many more…

 

Wikipedia
 
http://en.wikipedia.org/
            Reproductive Rights
          
Assisted Reproductive Technology
     

Wex (Cornell Legal Information Institute)
http://www.law.cornell.edu/
            Family Law (mostly US)
           
Human Rights
           

Jurispedia
http://en.jurispedia.org/index.php/Main_Page
           Abortion Law (US)


Merck Manual Online (medical encyclopedia) 
(see search box --top right)

http://www.merckmanuals.com/home/index.html
             Women's Health Issues

                              Assisted Reproductive Technologies
                     

 

Congressional Research Service (USA) Reports


Charles B. Sears Law Library • O'Brian Hall • North Campus • Buffalo, NY 14260 • ph:716-645-2047
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip