This is the "Digests & Other Materials" page of the "US Digests of State Practice in International Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US Digests of State Practice in International Law   Tags: international law, state practice  

Last Updated: Oct 18, 2013 URL: http://lawlib.buffalo.libguides.com/USDigestsIntLaw Print Guide RSS Updates
Digests & Other Materials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Digests and Other Resources

US Digests of State Practice in International Law
 

Cadwalader, John L. Digest of the Published Opinions of the Attorneys-General, and the Leading, Decisions of the Federal Courts, With Reference to International Law, Treaties and Kindred Subjects (1877)
--On the ShelfKZ 237.7 D54 1877  (1 volume)
--Online (pdf): HeinOnline go to: Foreign and International Law Resources Database -- Part II: US Law Digests
--On Google Books (pdf): here .

 
Wharton, Francis, ed. A Digest of the International Law of the United States Taken from Documents Issued by Presidents and Secretaries of State and from Decisions of Federal Courts and Opinions (1887)
--On the Shelf: Law Library KZ237.7 .W53 1887  (3 vols.)
--Online (pdf): Proquest Congressional  --Search: Congressional Publications–By Number–Serial Set Volume 2351
--Online (pdf): HeinOnline -- Go to: Foreign and International Law Resources Database -- Part II: US Law Digests
--Online on Google Books (pdf): Vol. 1

 
Moore, John Bassett, Digest of International Law as Embodied in Diplomatic Discussions, Treaties and other International Agreements, International Awards, the Decisions of Municipal Courts, and the Writings of Jurists, and Especially in Documents, Published and Unpublished, Issued by Presidents and Secretaries of State of the United States, the Opinions of the Attorneys-General, and the Decisions of Courts, Federal and State (1906)
--On the Shelf: Law Library KZ237.7 .M66 1906 (8 vols.)
--Online (pdf):Proquest Congressional. Search: Congressional Publications–By Number–Serial Set Volume 4202
--Online (pdf): HeinOnline  -- Go to: Foreign and International Law Resources Database -- Part II: US Law Digests

 

Hackworth, Green Haywood, Digest of International Law (covers 1906-1939)
--On the Shelf:Law Library KZ 237.7 H33 1940 (8 vols.)
--Online (pdf): HeinOnline   -- Go to: Foreign and International Law Resources Database -- Part II: US Law Digests
 
 

Whiteman, Marjorie M., Digest of International Law (covers 1940-1960, but varies by topic)
--On the Shelf: Law Library KZ 237.7 W55 1963 (15 vols.)
--Online (pdf): HeinOnline --   Go to: Foreign and International Law Resources Database -- Part II: US Law Digests
--Online (pdf): LLMC Digital 
 

Digest of United States Practice in International Law (covers 1973-1980)
Prepared by: Arthur W. Rovine, 1973-1974; Eleanor C. McDowell, 1975-1976; John A. Boyd, 1977; Marian L. Nash, 1978-1980.
--On the Shelf: Law Library KZ21 .R68 (8 volumes, annual)
--Online (pdf): HeinOnline   -- Go to: Foreign and International Law Resources Database -- Part II: US Law Digests
--Online (US State Dept.)

 
Cumulative Digest of United States Practice in International Law (Covers 1981-1988)
--On the Shelf: KZ 21 R68 (3 vols.)
--Online (pdf): HeinOnline   -- Go to: Foreign and International Law Resources Database -- Part II: US Law Digests

 
Digest of United States Practice in International Law (covers 1989-2010+)
--On the Shelf KZ 21 R68
--Online (pdf): HeinOnline  Go to: Foreign and International Law Resources Database -- Part II: US Law Digests
--On the Internet: US State Dept. (1989-2011+)
--Supplemental Note on Internet Citations (Internet addresses where some U.S. government materials excerpted in past Digests can be accessed as of September 2010)

 
Update with:

The U.S. State Department website
http://www.state.gov/s/l/c8183.htm

AND

American Journal of International Law
Each issue (beginning in 1959) includes a feature "Contemporary Practice of the United States relating to International Law"
--On the Shelf: K1 M444  ;1907+(pre-2000 located in Annex)
--Online (pdf):HeinOnline (1907 - close to present)
--Online: Westlaw*
--Online: Lexis*
 
Other sources of US Practice in International Law
 
Hyde, Charles C., International Law: Chiefly as Interpreted and Applied by the United States KZ4113 .H93 1945

Murphy, Sean D., United States Practice in International Law KF4581 .M87 2002

Restatement, Third, Foreign Relations Law of the United State KF4651 .R47 1987 (Ref); Also HeinOnline, Westlaw* and Lexis*
 
See also:

Roberts, Anthea Elizabeth
Traditional and Modern Approaches to Customary International Law: A Reconciliation

95 Am. J. Int'l L. 757 (2001)

 
*Westlaw/Lexis access restricted to law students only


Charles B. Sears Law Library • O'Brian Hall • North Campus • Buffalo, NY 14260 • ph:716-645-2047
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip