DATABASES - Constitutional Law
Oxford Constitutions of the World http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=105 (accessible ONLY in the Law Library)
A keyword searchable database containing the full text of the constitutions and introductory and comparative notes of 192 countries and 144 territories and dependencies translated into English. Also includes the full-text of the constitutions of the 50 states, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, Guam, the Marshall Islands , the Northern Mariana Islands, the Federal States of Micronesia , and the U.S. Constitution.
The Avalon project at Yale Law School : documents in law, history and diplomacy http://avalon.law.yale.edu/default.asp
Database of full text documents from history. Search by category or keyword. See, The American Constitution -- A Documentary Record http://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/constpap.asp
World Constitutions Illustrated HeinOnline http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=204
Constitute (Google & Comparative Constitutions Project)
-- Exploring World's Constitutions
AUDIO CASE FILES
You can download and listen to popular Constitutional Law Cases in MP3 format by clicking on this link:
Directions to sign in are here. (Access limited to UB students & faculty.)
UB Law Faculty Publications - Constitutional Law
Many UB Law Faculty members have written on Constitutional Law topics.
Journal & Law Review Articles - Constitutional Law
Search these legal periodical indexes to identify relevant articles. Be creative with your search terms. Try very general as well as specific searches.
Online Legal Periodical Indexes:
Online Indexes with Quickest CURRENT coverage:
- Current Law Journal Content: an index to legal periodicals (2005 - present)(Washington & Lee)
- Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) on Westlaw* only (most recent 8 weeks)
- SSRN (Social Science Research Network)(2000s-present) Working papers, accepted papers.
Indexes in paper format:
Index to Legal Periodical Literature K 9 N319 (ref)(1888-1939)
- Index to Legal Periodicals K9 N32 (Ref) (1926-1994)
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books K9 N32 (Ref) (1994-present)
Annual Legal Bibliography K 38 H365 (Ref) (1960-1981)
Subject Compilations of State Laws KF 240 S795 (Ref) (1960 - present) Identify law review articles and books that cite to state statutes on specific topics.
Online Indexes with Foreign & International Coverage:
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (1985 - present)
- Legal Journals Index (LJI) on Westlaw* only (1986-present) (UK & Europe)
- Public International Law (1996 - present) [Internet database; free to all] (for immigration see VR 15.3.2)
Indexes in paper format with Foreign & International Coverage:
- Public International Law JZ 5 P83 (Ref) (1975-2000, 2006-present)
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals K33 I38 (Ref) (1960-present)
- Szladits' Bibliography on Foreign and Comparative Law K38 B536 (Ref) (1984-1998)
You can also find relevant articles and other scholarly information by searching other online databases available at UB.
*Westlaw/Lexis access is restricted to law students only
Blogs are a great way to stay on top of recent changes and current trends. Because they are updated regularly, sometimes daily, blogs usually contain articles and summaries of the most up-to-date issues, along with commentary and links to audio and visual material. Here are the most recent postings from just two blogs:
Check out our guide to Basic Research Tools: News, Blogs & Alerts for more information on locating blog posts on specific topics.