This is the "Web Resources" page of the "Constitutional Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Constitutional Law   Tags: constitutional law  

Last Updated: Oct 4, 2016 URL: http://lawlib.buffalo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=116105 Print Guide RSS Updates

Web Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

US Constitutions, Q&A

Government Sites - US & NY

World Constitutional History

  • Constitutional History (Internet Modern History Sourcebook) (Fordham)
    A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts on: Constitutional States; The English Revolution (Tudor Government; The Stuart Challenge; Civil War and Revolution; Radicals; Religious Groups (Puritans; Baptists;Quakers); The Restoration; The "Glorious Revolution"; English Culture in the 17th & 18th Centuries; The Netherlands; Philosophical Reflections on Constitutional Politics; and Internationalist Ideas

Non-US Constitutions

  • Constitutional Law (WashLaw Web)
    Links to metasites of constitutions of countries of the world and provides an alphabetical list of countries.
  • Constitutions and Constitutional Courts (Foreign & International Law Resources) (Harvard)
    Links to several sites that link to constitutions from many countries.
  • International Constitutional Law
    Provides English translations of constitutions and other textual material related to constitutional documents from around the world. It cross-references those documents for quick comparison of constitutional provisions. Click on LINKS to see links to other constitutional metasites.
  • World Constitutions Illustrated (HeinOnline)
    (UB Subscription database) Text of current and historical constitutions worldwide, in original language as well as English translation. Also includes books, articles and other relevant resources. Links to external sites as well.
  • Oxford Constitutions of the World
    UB subscription database - Can be accessed in the Law Library only. Includes full text of current and historical constitutions from over 188 countries worldwide, in orignial language and English translation, if available. Also includes commentary.

Advocacy Groups

  • American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)
    Defends the Bill of Rights in advocating issues such as capital punishment, disability rights, immigrant rights, religious liberty and racial equality. The ACLU works daily in court, legislatures and communities to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties guaranteed to every person in this country by the Constitution and laws of the U.S.
  • American Constitution Society
    A national organization of law students, law professors, practicing lawyers and others, which aims to revitalize and transform the legal debate from law school classrooms to federal courtrooms. Documents, commentary and opinions (http://www.acslaw.org/Views.htm) from a wide variety of commentators are presented on many topics.
  • Ashbrook Center for Public Affairs
    An academic forum at Ashland University for the study, research and discussion of the principles and practices of American constitutional government and politics. Columnists include Robert Alt, Andrew E. Busch, John C. Eastman, Christopher Flannery, David Forte, Steven Hayward, Douglas Koopman, Terrence ). Moore, Lucas Morel, Mackubin T. Owens, Peter W. Schramm, and David Tucker.
  • Center for Constitutional Rights
    A non-profit legal and educational organization dedicated to protecting and advancing the rights guaranteed by the U.S. Constitution and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Includes news, reports, publications, viewpoint and more.
  • Civil Rights.org
    A collaboration of the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights and the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights Education Fund; claims to be the site of record for relevant and up-to-the minute civil rights news and information.
  • Human Rights First (formerly Lawyers Committee for Human Rights)
    Works in the U.S. and abroad to create a secure and humane world by advancing justice, human dignity and respect for the rule of law.
  • Institute for Justice
    Libertarian public interest law firm, aiming to preserve freedom of opportunity and challenge government control over the lives of individuals. Areas of expertise are economic liberty, school choice, private property rights, and first amendment issues. Site includes publications, press releases and background on cases.
  • Thomas Jefferson Center for the Protection of Free Expression
    A site devoted solely to the defense of free expression in all its forms, including the arts.

Topical Compilations

  • American Library Association - Intellectual Freedom: Censorship & First Amendment Issues, Filtering, Privacy & Confidentiality
    Provides links to information regarding privacy-related legislation, the Patriot Act, and the Children's Online Privacy Protection Act. ALA has deep-tooted principles in support of intellectual freedom. As the digital information age has developed many issues have had to be addressed in this new environment.
  • Law About...Civil Rights (Legal Information Institute, Cornell)
    Includes an overview of civil rights law and links to primary sources including the U.S. Constitution, sections of the U.S. Code and the Code of Federal Regulations, pertinent decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court and U.S. Court of Appeals for the 2nd Circuit, and relevant state and international law sources.
  • Law About...Constitutional Law (LII, Cornell)
    Includes an overview of constitutional law and links to primary sources including the U.S. Constitution; federal and state court decisions; background sources (Articles of Confederation; the Federalist Papers; and letter of transmittal, Federal Constitution, Sept. 1787), and state and foreign constitutions. Also links to other relevant sites.
  • Law About...Equal Protection (LII, Cornell)
    Includes an overview of equal protection law and links to primary sources including the Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution, and federal and state court decisions.
  • Law About...First Amendment (LII, Cornell)
    Includes an overview of the First Amendment and links to primary sources including the First and Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution, and federal and state court decisions.
  • The Establishment "Claus": A Selective Guide to the Supreme Court's Christmas Cases (by Stephen Young)
    This guide outlines the origins of Christmas and the ways in which the Supreme Court has encountered the holiday. It also lists articles on Supreme Court and its interpretation of the Establishment Clause in the context of some of the Christmas cases.
  • Constitutional Law Links (Findlaw)
    Contains cases, an online library of briefs, articles, documents and books, and a web guide with links to government agencies, journals, newsletters and articles, laws and government documents, discussion groups, outlines, software, and web sites.
  • Constitutional Law Center: Hot Topics (Findlaw)
    The Hot Topics section features short commentaries by legal scholars: abortion; the Bill of Rights (first, fourth, fifth & eighth Amendments); civil rights; discrimination; criminal law/procedure; elections; federal agencies, federalism; immigration; supremacy clause; and Supreme Court.
  • Human and Constitutional Rights
    Maintained by Columbia University School of Law, this site contains A Comparative Constitutional Rights Chart, Bill of Rights Comparative Law Materials, a list of Hot Topics, International links, Web resources, Country Reports and Documents, and National and Regional Links. It also includes a special exhibit, "WASN'T THAT A TIME: A Century of Repression" with statements and portraits excerpted from It Did Happen Here: Recollections of Political Repression in America, and from a companion volume in progress to be entitled, The Price of Dissent.
  • Index on Censorship
    Full text magazine featuring articles on freedom of expression. It was founded in 1972 by Stephen Spender with the goal to protect the basic human right of free expression. For the past 31 years, it has reported on censorship issues from all over the world and added to the debates on those issues. In addition to the analysis, reportage and interviews, each Index contains a country by country list of free speech violations.
  • Online Guide to Privacy Resources
    Contains descriptions of relevant organizations and contact information, printed publications, U.S. based web sites, international web sites, mailing lists and newsgroups and upcoming conferences and events.
  • Supreme Court Obscenity Decisions (Findlaw)
    Descriptions of and links to selected Supreme Court opinions.
  • Supreme Court Religion Decisions (Findlaw)
    Descriptions of and links to selected Supreme Court opinions.
  • University of Pittsburgh Jurist Site
    Links to news stories, hot topics, scholarship, opinion, blogs, and much more. JURIST is the Internet's legal education portal, the university-based academic gateway to authoritative legal instruction, information and scholarship online.
  • Constitutionalizing the Public Domain
    A project of the Center for the Study of the Public Domain (Duke).

Constitutional History

  • Anti-Federalist Papers
    Full-text collection of writings against constitutional ratification.
  • Federalist Papers
    Full-text collection of writings by Madison, Hamilton & Jay in favor of ratification.
  • Federalist Papers (Avalon Project at Yale Law School)
    Federalist Papers No. 1-85 in full-text
  • Madison Debates (Avalon Project at Yale Law School)
    From The Debates in the Federal Convention of 1878, which framed the Constitution of the United States, reported by James Madison, a delegate from Virginia.
  • Founders' Constitution
    Writings by a wide array of people engaged in the problem of making popular givernment safe, steady and accountable. The documents range from the early 17th Century to the 1830s, from the reflections of philosophers to popular pamphlets, from public debates in ratifying conventions to the private correspondence of the leading political actors of the day.
  • The Constitutional Convention
    This website provides a five-step guide to understanding the Convention. It includes the Convention as a four-act drama, both as an Overview version and a longer Detailed Version. Both are linked to Madison's Notes of the Debates. A Day by Day Summary focuses on the decisions made on the day. A biographical section on the Framers includes their ages, educational background, continental political experience and a sketch on their individual activity at the Convention. Two interactive reproductions ac t as points of destination and departure on the journey back to the Founding. A click on Howard Christy's famous painting of the signing of the Constitution provides access to biographical sketches. A clink on the map of Historical Philadelphia links the delegates with the actual locations where they resided, worked, walked and deliberated.
  • American Independence (Internet Modern History Sourcebook) (Fordham)
    A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts including Establishment of the American State.
  • Continental Congress & the Constitutional Convention (American Memory Project, Library of Congress)
    Links to: Journals of the Continental Congress, 1774-1789; Letters of Delegates to Congress, 1774-1789; Elliots' Debates, 1787-1788; and Farrand's Records, 1787.

Constitutional Analysis

Need help?

Profile Image
Law Reference Librarians
Contact Info
(716) 645-2047
 

Charles B. Sears Law Library • O'Brian Hall • North Campus • Buffalo, NY 14260 • ph:716-645-2047
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip