This is the "Specialized Resources" page of the "Immigration Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Immigration Law   Tags: asylum, immigration  

Last Updated: Mar 9, 2015 URL: http://lawlib.buffalo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=117441 Print Guide RSS Updates

Specialized Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Primary Sources - Immigration Law

 Primary Sources

STATUTORY

Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952 (McCarran-Walter Act), P.L. No. 82-414, June 27, 1952, c.477, 66 Stat. 163, Title 8 U.S.C. 1101 et. seq. (As Amended) 

Significant amendments:

  • Immigration Reform and Control Act, P.L. 99-603, Nov. 6, 1986, 100 Stat. 3359
  • Immigration Marriage Fraud Amendments, P.L. 99-639, 100 Stat. 3537, Nov. 10, 1986 
  • Immigration Act of 1990, P.L. 101-649, Nov. 29, 1990, 104 Stat. 4978. 
  • Violent Crime Control & Law Enforcement Act of 1994, P.L. 103-322, Title IV, Subtitle G; Title XIII, 108 Stat. 1796, Sept. 13, 1994 
  • Antiterrorism and Effective Dealth Penalty Act of 1996, P.L. 104-132, Title IV, 110 Stat. 1214, April 24, 1996 
  • Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act of 1996, P.L. 104-208 Div. C, 1996 U.S.C.C.A.N. (110 Stat.) 3009 [1570], Sept. 30, 1996 
  • USA PATRIOT Act (Uniting and Strengthening America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism Act), P.L. No. 107-56, 115 Stat.272, Oct. 26, 2001 
  • Enhanced Border Security and Visa Entry Reform Act, P.L. No. 107-173, 116 Stat. 543, May 14, 2002 
  • Homeland Security Act of 2002, P.L. No. 107-296, 116 Stat. 2135, Nov. 25, 2002 

Federal Immigration Laws, and Regulations KF 4805.99 U54 (Most recent on Reserve)
 
The Whole Act - INA as amended KF 4806.54 A19 P38 (Most recent on Reserve) 

ADMINISTRATIVE

Regulations

  • Title 8 C.F.R.; Additional regulations will be found in the C.F.R. Index US 005 A3 (Fed Core)
  • Federal Immigration Laws and Regulations KF 4805.99 U54 (Most recent on Reserve)

Decisions

Operating Procedures & Guidelines

  • Gordon & Mailman, Immigration Law and Procedure KF 4819 G6 
    See Vol. 9-11
 

Treatises & Casebooks - Immigration Law

Treatises

Gordon & Mailman, Immigration Law and Procedure, Rev. Ed. KF 4819 G6; Lexis*

Fragomen, Immigration Law and Business KF 4819 F7 1983; Westlaw*
 
Gallager, Immigration Law Service, 2d via Westlaw (law students only)

NLG, Immigration Law and Crimes KF 4819 I472 1984 (Also Reserve); Westlaw*
 
NLG, Immigration Law and Defense, 3rd ed. KF 8925 E4 I457 1988 (Reserve); Westlaw*

Casebooks

Aleinikoff/Martin, Immigration and Citizenship, 6th ed. KF 4818 A43 2008


*Westlaw/Lexis access is restricted to law students only

 

Online Catalog - BISON

Search UB's Online Catalog for books, e-books and other materials.

UB now has 2 versions of BISON:

BISON (VuFind with filters)
BISON Classic

Try these and other subject searches in BISON":

Admission of nonimmigrants

Citizenship

Deportation

Emigration and Immigration Law

Freedom of Movement

Illegal Aliens

Refugees, political-- legal status, laws, etc.

Repatriation

 

News & Analysis - Immigration Law

Bender’s Immigration Bulletin KF 4802 B46 (also Lexis* - law students only)

Georgetown Immigration Law Journal K 7 E64 (also HeinOnline, LEXIS*, Westlaw*)

Immigration Briefings  KF 4802 I463 (Most recent on Reserve)

Immigration and nationality law review      
from 1986 to present in HeinOnline 

Immigration Litigation Bulletin         
An internal publication about immigration litigation matters for attorneys within the Departments of Justice and Homeland Security. Includes full text of of selected Immigration Litigation Bulletins released pursuant to a FOIA request (2003-present).

In Defense of the Alien KF 4800 A75 I52 

International Journal of Refugee Law K9 N8489 (also HeinOnline)

Interpreter Releases KF 4802 I57 (Most current on Reserve)
includes:
Katzman, “UNHCR’s Asylum-Related Guidelines”, 81 Interpreter Release 545 (April 26, 2004) 

Refugee Reports HV 640.4 U54 R42

 

Digests & Citators - Immigration Law

Digests

Patel, Patel's Immigration Law Digest: Digest of Opinions in Immigration and Nationality Cases:

Citators

Patel's Citations
KF 4812.5 P38 (Most current on Reserve); Online http://www.justice.gov/eoir/vll/intdec/VOL%2023/Notice%20Regarding.pdf

Shepard's Citations (Lexis*)
includes:
--Immigration & Naturalization Interim Decisions (I. & N. Dec. Interim)
--Immigration and Nationality Decisions ( I. & N. Dec.)
--Immigration Case Reporter ( Immigr. Cas. Rep. )
--Immigration Law and Procedure Reporter (Immigr. Law & Proc. Rep. )
--Board of Immigration Appeals LEXIS cite ( BIA LEXIS )
--Immigration and naturalization decisions as published in major reports of the U.S. Supreme Court and lower federal courts
--Immigration and Nationality law provisions of U.S. Code and CFR
--Georgetown Immigration Law Journal ( Geo. Immigr. L.J.)


*Westlaw/Lexis access is restricted to law students only

 

IRIS -- IMMIGRATION LAW on CD-ROM

 IRIS: Immigration Research Information Service
A CD-ROM containing primary and secondary sources of immigration law.  Last updated April 2004.
IRIS: Immigration Research Information Service KF 4819 I75 (Koren AV)

ANALYSIS

Immigration Law Service (also Westlaw*)
Full-text treatise

INS Basic Law Manual (also KF 48 21 U55 1991 )
INS publication on asylum law.

Interpreter Release (also KF 4802 I57 -Most recent on Reserve)
1987+; excludes appendices

Immigration Briefings ( also KF 4802 I463 )
1988+; excludes appendices

Martin's Asylum Case Law Sourcebook (also KF 4836 A7 M37 -Most recent in Ref; Westlaw*)
Summaries of every federal court asylum decision since 1980

UNHCR Handbook on Procedures and Criteria for Determining Refugee Status (also K 3230 R45 H36 1988 -Ref)

PRIMARY SOURCES

International

  • U.N. Documents Relating to Refugees 

Judicial

Statutory

  • INA amended through P.L. 108-76 
  • 8 USCA and 18 USCA amended through P.O. 108-76 
  • Illegal Immigration Reform & Immigrant Responsibility Act of 1996 P.L. 104-208, Div. CM 

Administrative

  • CFR - All or parts of Titles 8, 20, 22, 28, 29, and 42 amended through 8/07/2003 
  • Federal Register from July, 1990+ 
  • INS Operating Instructions, Gordon & Mailman Vol. 9 (also KF 4819 G6 )
  • Foreign Affairs Manual, Gordon & Mailman Vol. 10,11 (also  KF 4819 G6 )
  • State Department analysis of its immigration and citizenship regulations;all of Vol. 9 & pt. of Vol. 7 
  • INS General Counsel Opinions No. 91-1 to 99-6

LABOR CERTIFICATION

 BALCA Deskbook, Gordon & Mailman Vol. 8 (also KF 4819 G6  )
Summaries of decisions by Labor Department's Board of Alien Labor Certification Appeals

Dictionary of Occupational Titles (also HB 2581 U55 1991 Supp. 1993 -Lockwood Ref; Westlaw* and Lexis*
Labor Department publication of job descriptions and duties

Occupational Outlook Handbook (also HD 8051 A5 -Lockwood Reference; Lexis*; Online http://www.bls.gov/oco/)

DOL Technical Assistance Guide (also LEXIS* -  IMMTAG TAG)

 

Nutshells & Study Guides - Immigration Law

Cover Art
How to get a Greencard - Bray, Ilona M.
ISBN: 9781413308525
8th ed. Nolo (2008) E-Book

Cover Art
How to get a Greencard - Bray, Ilona M.
Call Number: KF4840 .Z9 L49 2006 (Ref.)
ISBN: 1413305202
7th ed. Nolo (2006)

Cover Art
Immigration Law and Procedure in a Nutshell - Weissbrodt
Call Number: KF4819.3 .W4 2011 (Study Aids)
ISBN: 9780314199447
6th ed. (2011)

 

Practitioners' Handbooks - Immigration Law

Practitioner's Handbooks

ABA, The Criminal Lawyer’s Guide to Immigration Law KF 4819 M39 2006

AILA, Immigration Litigation Toolbox, 2d ed. KF 4816 .A35 2005 (Also Koren AV)

AILA, Immigration Options for Academics and Researchers KF 4819 A1 I46 (Ref)

AILA, Immigration Practice Under NAFTA & Other Free Trade Agreements, 3rd ed. KF 4819.3 I484 2006 (Ref)

AILA, Litigating Immigration Cases in Federal Court, 2nd ed. KF 8925 E4 P38 2009 

AILA, Visa Processing Guide & Consular Posts Handbook KF 4827 V57 (Most recent in Ref)

BIA, Board of Immigration Appeals Practice Manual and Questions & Answers KF 4819 U548; Online http://www.justice.gov/eoir/vll/qapracmanual/apptmtn4.htm
 
Chin, Immigration and the Constitution KF 4819 A2 I4265 2001

Divine, Immigration Practice KF 4819 D58 2005 (Also Koren AV)
 
Fragomen & Bell, H-1B Handbook

Fragomen & Bell, Immigration Employment Compliance KF 4829 Z9 I43; Westlaw*

Fragomen & Del Ray, Immigration Procedures Handbook KF 4819 I484 (Most recent on Reserve); Westlaw*

Gallager, Immigration Pleading and Practice Manual  Westlaw*

Gallager, Immigration Trial Handbook Westlaw*

Kurzban, Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook KF 4819.3 K87 (2006 (10th ed.) on Reserve) [Current ed. on AILALink--Please see reference librarian to access]

Malpert, Business Immigration Law KF 4829 B87 2000

Vargus, Representing Noncitizen Criminal Defendants in New York State KFN 6115 V37 2006 (NY Alcove)

Asylum

Germain, AILA's Asylum Primer: A Practical Guide to U.S. Asylum Law and Procedure, 4th ed. KF 4836 Z9 G47 2005 (Also Koren AV)

Martin, Asylum Case Law Sourcebook, 7th ed. KF 4836 A7 M37 (Ref); Westlaw*

Musalo, Refugee Law & Policy: Cases & Materials, 2d ed. KF 4836 A7 M87 2002

ILRC, Winning Asylum Cases KF 4836 S55 2004

UNHCR, Collection of International and Legal Texts Concerning Refugees... K 3230 A265 2007; Online http://www.unhcr.org/publ/PUBL/455c460b2.html

UNHCR, Handbook on Procedures and Criteria for Determining Refugee Status K 3230 R45 H36 1988  (Reference)
1992 ed. Online http://www.unhcr.org/publ/PUBL/3d58e13b4.pdf

Wallace, Asylum Practice and Procedure: Country-by-Country Handbook  K 3230 R45 A894 1999 (Reference)

*Also see "Journals" tab 

Detention

ABA, The INS Detention Standards Implementation Initiative KF 4821 I57 2001
 
ABA, A Legal Guide for INS Detainees: How to Complain Effectively KF4819.3 .L44 2002; Online http://www.abanet.org/publicserv/immigration/detainees.pdf

ABA, A Legal Guide for INS Detainees: Actions Brought Against INS or Other Law Enforcement Officials for Personal Injury or Property Damage or Loss KF 4819.3 L438 2002; Online http://bison.buffalo.edu:8991/F?func=direct&doc_number=002217450

ABA, A Legal Guide for INS Detainees: Petitioning for Release from Indefinite Detention KF 4819.3 L43 2002

ABA, A Legal Guide for ICE Detainees: Petitioning for Release from Indefinite Detention http://www.abanet.org/publicserv/immigration/legal_guide_Indef_Detention.pdf

Welch, Detained: Immigration Laws & The Expanding INS Jail Complex JV 6483 W455

 


*Westlaw/Lexis access is restricted to law students only

 

Research Aids - Immigration Law

Research Aids

Chanin, Specialized Legal Research ("Immigration Law") KF 240 S69 1987 (Ref Desk)

Cordasco, Dictionary of American Immigration History JV 6450 D53 1990 (Ref)

 Mason, “Sources of International Refugee law: A Bibliography”, 8 Int. J.Ref. L. 597 (1996)  K9 N8489 (Also HeinOnline)

 

Legislative History - Immigration Law

Legislative History

CIS, Congressional Information Service KF 49 C623 (Koren AV); Lexis Nexis Congressional http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=104

Franklin, Legislative History of Naturalization in the United States KF 1814 F84 1969

Hutchinson, Legislative History of American Immigration Policy, 1798 - 1965 KF 4805.8 1981

IHS, Legislative Histories - Microfiche Program (Koren AV)

  • P.L. 82-414 Immigration and Nationality Act 
  • P.L. 85-316 Immigration Act of 1957 
  • P.L. 89-236 Immigration and Nationality Amendments of 1965 

Hein, Immigration and Nationality Acts: Legislative Histories and Related Documents, [1952-1997]

Trelles & Bailey, Immigration and Nationality Acts. Legislative Histories and Related Documents 1950-1978 HeinOnline

Bailey, Immigration and Nationality Acts. Legislative Histories and Related Documents 1977-1986 First Series  HeinOnline

Montweiler, The Immigration Reform Law of 1986: Analysis, Text, and Legislative History KF 4806.56 A16 M66 1987

AILA, Selected Legislative History of the Immigration Act of 1990 KF 4806.52 A15 1991
Kavass & Reams, Immigration act of 1990: A Legislative History of Pub. L. No. 101-649 HeinOnline

AILA, Selected Legislative History of the Illegal Immigration Reform & Immigrant Responsibility Act of 1996 KF 4806.57 A15 1997

Reams & Nelson, “Immigration Reform and the Simpson-Rodino Act: A Legislatiave history of the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986 (P. L. 99-603) with Related Documents and Secondary Sources”, 22 Int’l. J.L. Information 12 (1994) K 9 N8485 (Also HeinOnline)

 

Journal & Law Review Articles - Immigration Law

Search these legal periodical indexes to identify relevant articles.  Be creative with your search terms.  Try very general as well as specific searches.

Online Legal Periodical Indexes:

    Online Indexes with Quickest CURRENT coverage:

    Indexes in paper format:

    • Index to Legal Periodical Literature K 9 N319  (ref)(1888-1939)
    • Index to Legal Periodicals K9 N32 (Ref) (1926-1994)
    • Index to Legal Periodicals & Books K9 N32 (Ref) (1994-present)
    • Annual Legal Bibliography K 38 H365 (Ref) (1960-1981)
    • Subject Compilations of State Laws KF 240 S795 (Ref) (1960 - present) Identify law review articles and books that cite to state statutes on specific topics.

     Online Indexes with Foreign & International Coverage:

    Indexes in paper format with Foreign & International Coverage:

    • Public International Law JZ 5 P83 (Ref) (1975-2000, 2006-present)
    • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals K33 I38 (Ref) (1960-present)
    • Szladits' Bibliography on Foreign and Comparative Law K38 B536 (Ref) (1984-1998)

    You can also find relevant articles and other scholarly information by searching other online databases available at UB.


    *Westlaw/Lexis access is restricted to law students only


    Charles B. Sears Law Library • O'Brian Hall • North Campus • Buffalo, NY 14260 • ph:716-645-2047
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip