This is the "Intellectual Property" page of the "Intellectual Property" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Intellectual Property   Tags: copyright, intellectual property, patents, trademarks  

Last Updated: Oct 13, 2017 URL: http://lawlib.buffalo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=117496 Print Guide RSS Updates

Intellectual Property Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Guides

UB RESEARCH GUIDES

Copyright (by Karlen Chase)
Includes topics:
Copyright Overview;
Copyright by Country;
Exceptions

Patents (by Nancy Schiller)
Includes topics:
Patent Database;
Patent Classification Searching;
Links to National and International Patent Offices;
UB & SUNY Patent Resources;
Tutorials/ Videos

MORE GUIDES

Intellectual Property Research Competencies (2014)  (PDF)
from the PLL&IP SIS IP Caucus  Private Law Librarian & Information Professional Special Interest Section of the AALL
Lists resources for: General Competencies; Patent Research Basics; Trademark Research basics; Copyright Basics; Key Treatises;
Procedural Manuals; Key Websites and Databases; Other Skills/Knowledge.


UPDATE: International Trademark Law – The Madrid System (Globalex)
By Vicenç Feliú
http://www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/International_Trademark_Law1.html

 

Study Aids

Intellectual Property - Study Aids

Myers, Principles of intellectual property law KF2979 .M94 2017 (Study Aids)
Concise hornbook series.


Chisum, Understanding intellectual property law 2nd ed. KF2979 .C478 2011 (Study Aids)



McJohn, Intellectual property KF2980 .M42 2015 (Study Aids)
Examples & explanations series.



Barrett, Intellectual property 3rd ed. KF2980 .B372 2012 (Study Aids)
CrunchTime series. (Examinations, questions, etc.)


Barrett, Intellectual property 3rd ed. KF2980 .B37 2012 (Study Aids)
Emanuel law outlines.



Miller & Davis, Intellectual Property: Patents, Trademarks & Copyright in a Nutshell, 5th ed. KF 2980 M52 2012 (Study Aids)
Nutshell series.


McManis, Intellectual property and unfair competition in a nutshell  7th ed.  KF1610 .M354 2013 (Study Aids)
Nutshell series.


International Intellectual Property Law

Rustad., Global Internet law in a nutshell 3rd ed. KF390.5 .C6 R87 2016  (Study Aids)
Nutshell series.
Includes these chapters:  Copyrights in cyberspace; Trademarks on the global Internet; Trade secrets in cyberspace
Patent law and the Internet.

 

Commercial Databases - Intellectual Property

Westlaw - Intellectual Property Resources [Law Students Only]


Lexis Advance [Law Students Only]

LEXIS Advance - Trademark Law

LEXIS Advance - Patent Law

LEXIS Advance - Copyright Law

LEXIS Contents (for all 3 topics above) include:
Cases
Statutes and Legislation
Administrative Codes and Regulations
Administrative Materials
Secondary Materials
        Treatises, Practice Guides & Jurisprudence
        Law Reviews & Journals
Forms
Briefs, Pleadings and Motions
Jury Instructions
Jury Verdicts & Settlements
Expert Witness Analysis
Dockets
Directories
News
Legal News
Intellectual Property
Practice Centers


(can be accessed  in any of the UB Libraries; can also be accessed by UB students, staff & faculty from off-campus with a UB username/password).

Coverage includes:
Books
Legislative Histories
CFR Title 37
US Code Titles 15, 17, & 35
Scholarly Articles
TMEP
USPTO
Periodicals
Federal Agency Decisions
MPEP
Exernal Links

See the HeinOnline IP brochure here.


Bloomberg BNA - Intellectual Property Law Resource Center   (can be accessed  ONLY in the Law Library).
Contents include:

  • CASES & DECISIONS
    USPQ, 2d Series (1986 - Present)
    USPQ, 1st Series (1929 - 1986)
    Latest USPQ Patent Cases
    Latest USPQ Trademark & Unfair Trade Practice Cases
    Latest USPQ Copyright Cases
    Latest USPQ Judicial Practice & Procedure Cases
  • LEGAL ANALYSIS
    TREATISES
     Patents and The Federal Circuit (12th Ed.) (2015) and 2016 Supp.
     Harmon on Patents: Black-Letter Law and Commentary
     Patent Litigation Collection
     Patent Prosecution Collection
     IP Technology Collection
     Copyright and Trademark Collection
     Trade Secrets Collection
  • PORTFOLIOS
    Trademarks and Related Unfair Competition Law
    Trade Secrets: Protection and Remedies
  • PRACTICE TOOLS
    PTAB Challenge Navigator℠
    Legislative Watch
    Regulatory Watch
    Supreme Court Table
    Hatch-Waxman Litigation Watch [By Brand Name Drug]
    Trademark Trial and Appeal Board Watch
    In Practice: Patent Term
    Manual of Patent Examining Procedure
  • NEWS REPORTS
    Patent, Trademark & Copyright Journal - Daily Edition
    Patent, Trademark & Copyright Journal
    World Intellectual Property Report
    Bloomberg Law Insights
  • LAWS & REGULATIONS
    Intellectual Property Laws
    Intellectual Property Regulations
  • INDEX & FINDING AIDS
    USPQ Classification Outline
    USPQ Topical Index
    Resource Center Update

Bloomberg Law [Law Students Only]
 
Practice Centers:
 
Intellectual Property Law Books & Treatises:

American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI)
Bankruptcy and Its Impact on Intellectual Property Law

American Bar Association (ABA)
Biotechnology and the Law

Bloomberg BNA (BNA)
Anatomy of a Patent Case
Biotechnology and the Federal Circuit
Computer and Intellectual Property Crime: Federal and State Law
Constructing and Deconstructing Patents
Copyright Law Deskbook
Drafting Patents for Litigation and Licensing
E-Health, Privacy, and Security Law
Electronic and Software Patents: Law and Practice
European Patent Practice for U.S. Attorneys
Fiber Optic Telecommunications Networks: Construction Contracts
Fiber Optic Telecommunications Networks: Fiber Use Agreements
Fiber Optic Telecommunications Networks: Lit Fiber Services Agreements
FinTech Law: A Guide to Technology Law in the Financial Services Industry
Global Patent Litigation: How and Where to Win
Harmon on Patents: Black-Letter Law and Commentary
Intellectual Property Law in Cyberspace
Intellectual Property Taxation: Transaction and Litigation Issues
Intellectual Property Technology Transfer
Intellectual Property, Software, and Information Licensing: Law and Practice
International Patent Litigation: A Country-by-Country Analysis
Patent Infringement Remedies
Patent Law and Practice
Patent Litigation Strategies Handbook
Patent Prosecution: Law, Practice, and Procedure
Patents After the AIA: Evolving Law & Practice
Patents and the Federal Circuit
Pharmaceutical Patent Law
Post-Grant Patent Practice
Privacy in Employment Law
Products Comparison Manual for Trademark Users (3rd Ed.)

Getting The Deal Through (GTDT)
Copyright
Cybersecurity
Data Protection and Privacy
Franchise
Intellectual Property and Antitrust
Licensing
Life Sciences
Patents
Pharmaceutical Antitrust
Right of Publicity
Telecoms and Media
Trademarks
e-Commerce

Massachusetts Continuing Legal Education (MCLE)
Business Torts in Massachusetts
Contract Disputes and Litigation
Cyber Liability in the Age of the New Data Security Laws
Freedom of Information and Public Records Law in Massachusetts
Intellectual Property Licensing Agreements
Intellectual Property Litigation
Intellectual Property Practice
International Commercial Contracting
Nanotechnology: Cutting Edge Issues
Obtaining, Using and Protecting Trademarks
Patents and Patent Prosecution
Protecting Proprietary Information
Protecting Trade Secrets
Protecting and Enforcing Copyrights

Practising Law Institute (PLI)
A Practical Guide to Life Science Companies: Commercializing & Protecting Innovation
A Practical Guide to the Red Flag Rules: Identifying and Addressing Identity Theft Risks
Advertising and Commercial Speech: A First Amendment Guide
Advising High-Technology Companies
Art Law
Copyright Law: A Practitioner's Guide
Faber on Mechanics of Patent Claim Drafting
Fashion Law and Business: Brands & Retailers
Federal Circuit Yearbook: Patent Law Developments in the Federal Circuit
How to Write a Patent Application
Intellectual Property Law Answer Book
Kane on Trademark Law: A Practitioner's Guide
Likelihood of Confusion in Trademark Law
Outsourcing: A Practical Guide to Law and Business
Patent Claim Construction and Markman Hearings
Patent Law: A Practitioner's Guide
Patent Licensing and Selling: Strategy, Negotiation, and Forms
Patent Litigation
Pharmaceutical and Biotech Patent Law
Post-Grant Proceedings Before the Patent Trial and Appeal Board
Proskauer on Privacy: A Guide to Privacy and Data Security Law in the Information Age
Sack on Defamation: Libel, Slander & Related Problems
Social Media and the Law
Substantial Similarity in Copyright Law
Telecommunications Law Answer Book
Trade Secrets: A Practitioner's Guide

Wiley Press
International Libel and Privacy Handbook: A Global Reference for Journalists, Publishers, Webmasters, and Lawyers
 

IP Blogs--What's up Now?

The latest 20 postings from 300+ Intellectual Property Law blogs via Justia Blawg Search. Browse or search this site for additional relevant law blog (blawg) postings.

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Charles B. Sears Law Library • O'Brian Hall • North Campus • Buffalo, NY 14260 • ph:716-645-2047
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip