This is the "Print & Other Sources" page of the "US Law Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US Law Sources   Tags: federal  

Last Updated: Mar 7, 2017 URL: http://lawlib.buffalo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=117536 Print Guide RSS Updates

Print & Other Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Print & Other Materials -- US LAW SOURCES

Case Law

I. FEDERAL COURT STRUCTURE

  • United States Supreme Court - highest appellate court in the U.S. 
  • United States Court of Appeals - intermediate appellate court in 13 Circuits 
  • United States District Court - trial level or court of original jurisdiction. Organized into 89 districts in the 50 states, one in the District of Columbia, one in Puerto Rico and three in the U.S. territories. 

II. COURT REPORTS (Collections of judicial opinions arranged chronologically)

United States Supreme Court 

United States Court of Appeals - No official reporter published 

United States District Courts - No official reporter published 

  • Federal Cases 1789-1879 (West) US 006.5 C14 (Fed Core)
  • Federal Reporter 1879-1933 (West) US 006.5 C16 (Fed Core)
  • Federal Supplement 1933- (West) Selected opinions US 006.5 C2 (Fed Core)

III. CITATORS FOR CASE LAW

Shepard's Lexis*

KeyCite Westlaw*

Statutory Law

I. SESSION LAWS (Chronological collection of laws passed by the U.S. Congress in each two year session and arranged by sequential numbers) 

U.S. Statutes at Large, 1789- (GPO) US 002 A2 (Fed Core); LLMC Digital http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=252 
Public Laws published in numerical order (eg. P.L. 104-344). Pre-1958 laws are arranged by Chapter number. 

U.S. Code, Congressional and Administrative News
, 1945- (West) US 002 U6 (Fed Core)
Arranged by Public Law number. Includes legislative history. 

II. CODIFICATIONS (Current laws of the U.S. arranged by subject)

U.S. Code
(U.S.C.) 1926-1994 ed.+ US 003 U5 (Fed Core)
Official edition published every six years with cumulative supplement volumes issued during intervening years. 

U.S. Code Annotated
(U.S.C.A.) 1927- (West) US 003 U6 (Fed Core)

U.S. Code Service
(U.S.C.S.) 1972- (Lexis) US 003 U67 (Fed Core)
Include annotations of court decisions and citations to the Code of Federal Regulations. Supplemented with pocket parts and quarterly pamphlets. 

III. CITATORS FOR STATUTORY LAW

Shepard's Lexis*

KeyCite Westlaw*

Administrative Law

I. RULES AND REGULATIONS (Promulgated by federal administrative agencies)

Code of Federal Regulations
(C.F.R.) 1939+ US 005 A3 (Fed Core, Koren AV); HeinOnline http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=204
Codification of rules and regulations currently in force 

Federal Register
(F.R.) 1936+  US 005 A2 (Fed Core, Koren AV)
Contains all finalized and proposed rules, notices issued by federal administrative agencies. Issued daily. 

II. AGENCY DECISIONS (Clarification and opinions resulting from individual agency's administrative law judges, hearing officers, commissions, etc.)

Examples:

III. CITATORS FOR ADMINISTRATIVE LAW

Shepard's Lexis*

KeyCite Westlaw*

Secondary Sources

I. DIGESTS (Summaries of cases arranged by subject.)

U.S. Supreme Court

  • U.S. Supreme Court Digest 1943- (West) US 006.55 U65 (Fed Core)
  • Digest of U.S. Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers Edition 1927+ US 006.55 U66 (Fed Core)

U.S. Courts of Appeal and District Courts

  • West's Federal Practice Digest, 4th 1989+ (West) US 006.55 F42 1989 (Fed Core)
  • West's Federal Practice Digest, 3rd (1975-89) US 006.55 F42 1984 (Fed Core)
  • West's Federal Practice Digest, 2d (1961-75) US 006.55 F42 1976 (Fed Core) 
  • Modern Federal Practice Digest (1940-1961) US 006.55 F42 (Fed Core) 
  • Federal Digest (pre-1940) 
  • American Digest System 1658+ 

II. ENCYCLOPEDIAS - STATUTES AND CASES

Corpus Juris Secundum, 1936+ KF 154 C56 1936

American Jurisprudence, 2d
1962+ KF 154 A42 1962 (Ref)

III. ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATIONS

Index to the Code of Federal Regulations US 005 A31 (Fed Core, Koren AV)
 
CIS Federal Register Index US 005 A21 (Koren AV)

IV. ANNOTATED LAW REPORTS

American Law Reports 1st-5th, Federal Series, 1919+ US 006 A6 (Fed Core)
Selective reporter of appellate court decisions with annotations on legal topics. Also on 3rd Floor

V. LOOSELEAF SERVICES (Looseleafs bring together statutes, cases and regulations on special topics. Examples include:

Standard Federal Tx Reporter (CCH) KF 3775 A6 E49 (Also Koren AV, Looseleaf Coll.)

Environment Reporter (BNA) KF 3775 A6 E49BNA http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=67 

Labor Law Reports (CCH) KF 3315 L25

VI. MISCELLANEOUS

Black's Law Dictionary, 9th ed. KF 156 B53 2009 (Ref, Ref Desk)

Ballentine's Law Dictionary KF 156 B3 1969 (Ref)

Legal Thesaurus, 3rd ed. KF 156 B856 1998 (Ref, Ref Desk)

Words and Phrases KF 156 W6712 (Ref)

 

*Westlaw/Lexis access restricted to law students only

Video

  • Metavid  Icon
    Open access video archive of the U.S. Congress [DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE UP TO DATE]
  • C-Span  Icon
    Congressional Proceedings since 1987. Indexed & digitized.

  • Roll Call videos  Icon
    Capitol Hill News Source since 1955
  • Roll Call YouTube channel  Icon
    "Roll Call, the Newspaper of Capitol Hill, is part of CQ Roll Call, which employs the largest newsroom dedicated to covering Congress."

Charles B. Sears Law Library • O'Brian Hall • North Campus • Buffalo, NY 14260 • ph:716-645-2047
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip