This is the "Web Resources" page of the "English Legal Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English Legal Research   Tags: united kingdom  

Last Updated: Feb 9, 2016 URL: http://lawlib.buffalo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=125705 Print Guide RSS Updates

Web Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

United Kingdom Web Resources

Comprehensive websites

British and Irish Legal Information Institute http://www.bailii.org/
Includes British and Irish case law & legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material. Lawlinks (University of Kent, 

Templeman Library, Kent, UK)
 http://www.kent.ac.uk/lawlinks/ukresources.html
Includes links to UK, European Union, international, foreign and other law sources. United 

Kingdom Parliament
 http://www.parliament.uk/
Includes links to Parliamentary bills, acts, House of Lords judgments, reports, Parliamentary archives, and other sources. 

ProQuest British Parliamentary Papers Collection, 18th to 21st Century http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=636 Includes Bills and Acts, Command Papers, House of Commons and House of Lords Papers, Debates, and Journals

UK Law - Squire Law Library – Cambridge University 
http://squire.law.cam.ac.uk/electronic_resources/uk_law.php

UK and Ireland Law Bodleian Law Library – Oxford Universityhttp://www.ouls.ox.ac.uk/law/guides/uk

Abbreviations

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations http://www.legalabbrevs.cardiff.ac.uk/
This service allows searching for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law. A wide selection of major foreign language law publications is also included. Publications from over 295 jurisdictions are featured in the Index. The database mainly covers law reports and law periodicals, but some legislative publications and major textbooks are also included.

Legislation: Historical

Magna Carta http://www.bl.uk/treasures/magnacarta/magna.html 

Statutes of the Realm
 http://www.british-history.ac.uk/
Includes volumes 5 through 7 only. Hint: do an advanced search in the full text search mode and select Statutes of the Realm as a source.

Legislation: Current

UK, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland

Office of Public Sector Information http://www.opsi.gov.uk/legislation/about_legislation.htm

Acts of Parliament and Explanatory Memorandum http://www.opsi.gov.uk/acts.htm

UK Statute Law Database http://www.statutelaw.gov.uk/
The Statute Law Database is the official revised version of the statute book for the UK in electronic form. 'The statute book' is a term used to mean all the primary legislation of a public general nature in force at any particular time. SLD is published 'by Authority', which means that it is published with the authority of the Crown.

Statutory Instruments and Explanatory Memorandum http://www.opsi.gov.uk/stat.htm

Church Measures http://www.opsi.gov.uk/uk-church-measures/index.htm

Chronological Tables of Local Acts and of Private and Personal Acts http://www.opsi.gov.uk/chron-tables/chron-index.htm

Northern Ireland

Northern Ireland Legislation http://www.opsi.gov.uk/legislation/northernireland/ni_legislation.htm

Acts of the Northern Ireland Assembly and Explanatory Memorandum http://www.opsi.gov.uk/legislation/northernireland/ni-acts.htm

Northern Ireland Orders in Council (Primary Legislation) and Explanatory Memorandum http://www.opsi.gov.uk/legislation/northernireland/ni-oic.htm

Statutory Rules of Northern Ireland and Explanatory Memorandum http://www.opsi.gov.uk/legislation/northernireland/ni-srni.htm

Revised Statutes of Northern Ireland http://www.opsi.gov.uk/legislation/northernireland/nisr/ni-welcome.htm

Scotland

Scotland Legislation http://www.opsi.gov.uk/legislation/scotland/about.htm

Acts of the Scottish Parliament and Explanatory Notes http://www.opsi.gov.uk/legislation/scotland/s-acts.htm

Scottish Statutory Instruments and Executive Notes http://www.opsi.gov.uk/legislation/scotland/s-stat.htm

Wales

Wales Legislation - Introduction http://www.opsi.gov.uk/legislation/wales/wales_legislation.htm

Acts of the UK Parliament and UK Statutory Instruments which apply exclusively or primarily to Wales http://www.opsi.gov.uk/legislation/wales/w-act-si.htm

Statutory Instruments made by the National Assembly of Wales http://www.opsi.gov.uk/legislation/wales/w-stat.htm

Cases: Current

Her Majesty’s Court Service http://www.hmcourts-service.gov.uk/cms/aboutus.htm
Her Majesty's Courts Service (HMCS) is responsible for the administration and support of the magistrates' courts, the Crown Court, county courts, the High Court and Court of Appeal in England and Wales. The Service also administers the Probate Service. Information about the courts and links to some recent cases. HMCS Court Structure: http://www.hmcourts-service.gov.uk/aboutus/structure/index.htm 

House of Lords Judgments
 http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/ld/ldjudgmt.htm
* House of Lords judgments from November 14, 1996 to the present. The House of Lords is the final court of appeal on points of law for the whole of the United Kingdom in civil cases and for England, Wales and Northern Ireland in criminal cases.
*Selective cases 1838-1995, all decisions from 1996 to present
http://www.bailii.org/uk/cases/UKHL/ 

UK Constitutional Reform - Creation of a Supreme Courthttp://squire.law.cam.ac.uk/electronic_resources/uk_constitutional_reform.php
Information on the Constitutional Reform Act 2005 

Latest judgments http://www.bailii.org/recent-decisions-ew.html#ew/cases/EWCA/Civ

Leading Cases http://www.bailii.org/openlaw/
Leading cases arranged by subject. 

Northern Ireland Cases 1999 to present
 http://www.courtsni.gov.uk/en-GB/Judicial+Decisions/Judgments/ 

Northern Ireland Court Structure http://www.courtsni.gov.uk/en-GB/AboutUs/Organisational+Structure/ 

Scottish Cases (Court of Sessions -- Civil cases; High Court of Justiciary -- Criminal cases) 1998 to present
 http://www.scotcourts.gov.uk/opinionsApp/supreme.asp

Cases: Historical

English Reports – Full Reprint (abbreviation: Eng. Rep.) cases from 1094 – 1873. Available in full text on HeinOnline (Access by UB community only) http://heinonline.org/HOL/Index?collection=engrep&set_as_cursor=clear
Also available in print in the Law Library (UK 006 A1 G51).
English Reports - Full Reprint also on LLMC database (Access by UB community only)http://www.llmc.com/Category.asp?ColID=5&Cat=377&Cat=499
Additional Reports available on LLMC database (Access by UB community only)http://www.llmc.com/Category.asp?ColID=5&Cat=377 

BAILLII http://www.bailii.org
Selective cases from several courts. Examples:
House of Lords: Selective years, selected decisions: 1838-1949; all years, selected decisions: 1950-1996; November 16, 1996 to present all cases, all years.
English and Wales Court of Appeal (Civil and Criminal Division) and High Court Divisions Decisions – for early cases, the dates and depth of coverage vary. 

Medieval English Legal History http://www.bu.edu/law/seipp/index.html
An Index and Paraphrase of Printed Year Book Reports, 1268-1535 compiled by David J. Seipp
Indexes all year book reports printed in the chronological series of the Year Books for all years between 1268 and 1535, and many of the year book reports printed only in alphabetical abridgements. In addition, of these reports, almost 6,000 from 1399 forward have been fully indexed and paraphrased.
Website includes Tables of Cases linking printed editions and manuscript versions of cases and an Article and Book Bibliography.

Self Help Websites

Legal Resources in the UK and Ireland: Information for Lawyershttp://www.venables.co.uk/lawyers.htm 

Legal Resources for Lawyers, A - Z http://www.venables.co.uk/sites.htm
Click on Courts; Legislation and Parliaments, etc., for useful links

Databases commonly available in the United States

LexisNexis

LexisNexis (Law School community only) http://www.lexisnexis.com/lawschool/

  • Statutes for England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales
  • Statutory Instruments for England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales
  • Cases from 1865 through current; From 1558 through current; All England Law Reports Reprints from 1558 (when available), ICLR Law Reports from 1865, All England Law Reports from 1936, Lloyds Law Reports from 1919, and other law reports from 1945. Scottish reported cases from 1982 and Northern Ireland cases from 1945. Unreported cases from England & Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland from 1980.

LexisNexis Academic (UB community only) http://web.lexis-nexis.com/universe/

  • Cases only

Westlaw

Westlaw (Law School community only) http://lawschool.westlaw.com/

  • Statutes for England, Wales and Scotland
  • Statutory Instruments for England, Wales and Scotland
  • Cases in law reports published by Sweet & Maxwell, Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England & Wales, the Scottish Council of Law Reporting, and LLP Reference Publishing. Coverage varies by publication. Coverage begins with 1865.

Historical Treatises

Blackstone, William, Sir. Commentaries on the laws of England.. Oxford, 1765-69. 4 volumes. http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/ECCO?vrsn=1.0&locID=sunybuff_main&srchtp=b&ste=1&n=10 (UB Community only) 


Bracton, Henry de, d. 1268. Henrici de Bracton de legibus & consuetudinibus Angliae libri quinq[ue] in varios tractatus distincti, ad diuersorum et vetustissimorum codicum collationem, ingenti cura, nunc primu[m] typis vulgati: quorum quid cuiq[ue] insit, proxima pagina demonstrabit., Londini : Apud Richardum Tottellum, An. do. 1569.
http://eebo.chadwyck.com/search (UB Community only) 


Coke, Edward, Sir, 1552-1634.
 The first part of the Institutes of the lawes of England. Or, A commentarie vpon Littleton, not the name of a lawyer onely, but of the law it selfe. Authore Edw: Coke Milite, London : Printed by [Miles Flesher, John Haviland, and Robert Young,] the assignes of Iohn More Esquire; and are to be sold by Richard More in S. Dunstans Churchyard, Anno 1629.
http://eebo.chadwyck.com/search (UB Community only) 


Glanville, Ranulf de, 1130-1190.
 Tractatus de legibus & consuetudinibus regni Angliae, tempore Regis Henrici secundi compositus, iusticiae gubernacula tenente illustri viro Ranulpho de Glanuilla iuris regni & antiquarum consuetudinum eo tempore peritissimo. Et illas solum leges continet & consuetudines secundum quas placitatur in curia Regis ad Scaccarium & coram Iusticijs vbicunque fuerint, [London : Printed by A. Islip] In aedibus Thomae Wight, 1604.
http://eebo.chadwyck.com/search (UB Community only) 


Littleton, Thomas, Sir, d. 1481. Tenannt en fee simple est celuy ..., [[London] : Imp[re]ssi p[er] nos Ioh[an]e[s] lettou [et] Will[es] de machlinia i citate Londonia[rum], [1482]]
http://eebo.chadwyck.com/search (UB Community only)


Charles B. Sears Law Library • O'Brian Hall • North Campus • Buffalo, NY 14260 • ph:716-645-2047
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip