This is the "Treaty Sources by Subject" page of the "Treaty Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Treaty Sources   Tags: international law, treaties  

Last Updated: Feb 10, 2016 URL: http://lawlib.buffalo.libguides.com/Treaties Print Guide RSS Updates

Treaty Sources by Subject Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

    Treaty Sources by Subject

Treaty compilations or collections by subject can be a useful way to identify relevant treaties or conventions in a particular area and get a lay of the land. Be sure to update using online treaty sources to check status, parties, and to discover any new instruments.

 

General Research/Multi-subject

Not sure where to start?  Check out one of these resources below.  They contain information on various subjects and can lead you to other, subject-specific sources.

Weston, International Law & World Order: Basic Documents KZ 64 I58 (Ref)

  • Vol. 1 Constitutive/Organic 
  • Vol. 2 War/Peace
  • Vol. 3 Human Rights/Social justice
  • Vol. 4 Trade/Development
  • Vol. 5 Earth/Space/Environment
     

United Nations Rule of Law Portal Includes Multilateral Conventions (Disarmament; Freedom of Information; Human Rights; Humanitarian Law;  International Criminal Law; Law of the Sea; Law of Treaties; Narcotic Drugs & Psychotropic Substances; Pacific Settlement of International Disputes; Refugees & Stateless Persons; Employment; Traffic in Persons, Slavery, Slavery-Like Practices & Forced Labour)

International Organization and Integration: Annotated Basic Documents and Descriptive Directory of International Organizations and Arrangements KZ4850 .I55 1981 (Ref)

Brownlie, Basic documents in international law, 6th ed. KZ64 .B37 2009 (Ref)

EISIL Electronic Information System for International Law (ASIL)

 

International Agreements and Diplomatic Documents (Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy)

  

Africa

African Union (and OAU) Treaties and Conventions (includes status information)

Air & Space

Air and Aviation Treaties of the World (1984+) K 4093 A35 1984 

Archimedes Institute, Space Law & Policy Library (no longer updated?)  

Bockstiegel, Space Law: Basic Legal Documents (1990+) KZD 1120 S67 1990 

 

Children

Van Buren, International Documents on Children K 639 A35 I57 1993 

Angel, International Law of Youth Rights: Source Documents and Commentary K639 I57 1995 (Ref)

Saulle, The Rights of the Child: International Instruments K 639 A48 1995 

Rosenblatt, International conventions affecting children  K639.A35 R67 2000

 

Civil Practice & Procedure

Transnational Contracts K 7265 D442 

Practical Handbook on the Operation of the Hague Convention of 15 November 1965 on the Service Abroad of Judicial and Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or Commercial Matters, 2nd ed. K 7637 A41965 P73 1992 

American Society of International Law,  Private International Law - ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law

 

Criminal Law

Bassiouni, International Criminal Law Conventions and Their Penal Provisions K 5036 B37 1997 

American Society of International Law, International Criminal Law  - ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law  

 
AMICC, Bilateral Immunity Agreements 


Defence

NATO Treaties

 

Economics & Trade

Bilateral Investment Treaties. See: Kluwer Arbitration (UB ONLY) To access, go through our Intelliconnect subscription (located under ‘international securities’ in the menu on the left side of the Intelliconnect database). See tab "Categories" for BITs and other Conventions.

Zamora & Brand, Basic Documents of International Economic Law (2 v.) K 3820 A35 B37 1990;also Westlaw* & Lexis*

  • Topics include trade, finance, investment, intellectual property, regional economic organizations, private commercial transactions and international arbitration.

Cheng, Basic Documents on International Trade Law, 3rd ed. K 1003 B37 1999 

Colas, Global Economic Co-operation: A Guide to Agreements and Organizations, 2nd ed. K 3823 A35 G66 1994 

US International Trade Commission, Tariff Information Center 
 Recent Free Trade Agreement Proclamation Annexes

 
American Society of International Law, International Economic Law - ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law 
Click on "Trade Treaties/Conventions" in Table of Contents.

World Trade Organization, Legal Texts  

 Environment

American Society of International Law, International Environmental Law - ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law 

Hohmann, Basic Documents of International Environmental Law K3583 B37 1992 

 ENTRI- Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators (CIESIN, Columbia University)

Environmental Law Reporter (ELI) KF 3775 A6 E5
 
Hoog & Steinmetz, International Conventions on Protection of Humanity and Environment K 3238 I58 1993
 
International Environmental Law: Primary Materials K 3583 I57 1991 

The Marine Mammal Commission Compendium of Selected Treaties, International Agreements, and Other Relevant Documents on Marine Resources, Wildlife, and the Environment K 3483 M37 1994 
 
U.N. Environment Programme  

IAEA Administered Treaties and Conventions (Nuclear Safety, Science & Technology, and more)

International Maritime Organization (IMO) Conventions (includes status info)

Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) Treaties (food, water, agriculture, fisheries, ports) Includes status info.
 
Water Treaties (FAO)
  Basic Texts of the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) 2011 pdf

Europe

The Conference on Security and Co-operation in Europe: Analysis and Basic Documents KZ6030 .C66 1993 (Ref)

European Conventions and Agreements, 1949+ KZ 626 1971

European Treaty Series 1949+ (Known as Council of Europe Council of Europe Treaty Series 2004+) KZ 625.3 C68;also Online
Click on specific convention to see status.

Extradition

18 U.S.C. Sec. 3181 (Fed Core); Online  (click on Notes tab);also Westlaw* & Lexis*

  • Historical notes list all treaties with date and country 

See also, "Criminal Law" above.

 

Human Rights

American Society of International Law, Human Rights - ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law

Borene, International human rights law sourcebook K3238 .I573 2014

Brownlie, Basic Documents on Human Rights, 4th ed. K 3238 A1 B36 2002 

Human Rights: A Compilation of International Instruments (UN) K 3238 H85 2002 

Human Rights: Fundamental Instruments & Documents K 3238 H854 1994 

Human Rights on CD-ROM K 3236 H864 (Koren AV)

  • Includes full-text of 95 human rights instruments 

Blaustein, et al., Human Rights Sourcebook K 3238 H86 1987 

Ermacora, International Human Rights K 3238 I59 1993

Unifo, International Human Rights Instruments of the United Nations 1948-1982 K 3238 I57 1983 

Hamalengwa, et. al, International Law of Human Rights in Africa: Basic Documents and Annotated Bibliography JC 599 A36 H36 1988 

Columbia Univ., Twenty-five Human Rights Documents, 2nd ed. K 3238 T84 1994 (Ref)

Human Rights Treaties and Other Instruments (U. Minnesota Human Rights Library)
http://www1.umn.edu/humanrts/treaties.htm

Humanitarian Law (Law of War, Armed Conflict)

 Borene, International humanitarian law (law of armed conflict) sourcebook KZ6462 .I58 2014

Intellectual Property

Ilardi and l Blakeney, International encyclopaedia of intellectual property treaties  K1401.A35 I428 2004 ( Law Library Reference )

Leaffer, International treaties on intellectual property K1401.A35 I57 1997

UNESCO, Copyright Laws and Treaties of the World (1956-2000) K 1419 C67 

UNESCO Conventions (Copyright, Cultural Property, Education, Communication, Natural Sciences & more)

World Intellectual Property Organization, WIPO Administered Treaties 
        Text of 25 intellectual property treaties plus detailed information & status.

Winner & Denberg, International trademark treaties with commentary K1553 .W56 2004

 WIPO Lex --national laws and treaties on intellectual property

Labor

International Labour Office, International Labour Conventions and Recommendations (1919-1995) K1703 I57 1996 

International Labour Organization, Coventions (NORMLEX)

  • Full text ILO conventions.

 

Maritime

International Maritime Organization (IMO) Conventions (includes status info)

Minorities & Indigenous People

Hannum, Documents on Autonomy and Minority Rights K 3242 A35 D63 1993 (also in Berman Coll.)


Refugees

UNHCR Conventions on Refugees, Statelessness, Displaced People  

RefWorld (UNHCR) Legal Collection

 

Taxation

CCH, Tax Treaties KF6306 .U55 

Doernberg & Van Raad, U.S. Tax Treaties K4473.2 U54 1991 

Trade

See "Economics & Trade" above

Women

Alfredsson & Tomaevski, A Thematic Guide to Documents on the Human Rights of Women: Global and Regional Standards Adopted by Intergovernmental Organizations, International Non-Governmental Organizations and Professional Associations K 644 A35 T44 1995 

Columbia University, Women and Human Rights: The Basic Documents, Center for the Study of Human Rights HQ 1236 W63 1996 (Ref)

Lockwood, et al., The International Human Rights of Women: Instruments of Change K 644 A35 I58 1998 

University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Women's Human Rights 
  
Rehof, Guide to the Travaux Preparatoires of the United Nations Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women K 3243 R44 1993

 

*Westlaw/Lexis access restricted to law students only


Charles B. Sears Law Library • O'Brian Hall • North Campus • Buffalo, NY 14260 • ph:716-645-2047
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip