This is the "IGOs: Intergovernmental Organizations" page of the "International Human Rights of Women -- Web Resources (FREE)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Human Rights of Women -- Web Resources (FREE)   Tags: human rights, reproductive rights, women's rights  

Resources on the international human rights of women, including reproductive rights.
Last Updated: Oct 13, 2015 URL: http://lawlib.buffalo.libguides.com/HumanRightsWomen Print Guide RSS Updates

IGOs: Intergovernmental Organizations Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Look for Reports, Documents and Publications from IGOs

LOOK FOR REPORTS, DOCUMENTS AND PUBLICATIONS FROM IGOS (Intergovernmental Organizations)

Recommendation: thoroughly examine the website of each IGO and NGO. They are content-rich and hold many hidden treasures.

Identify additional organizations using a search engine such as this one:


 Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine
“…searches across hundreds of IGO websites, enabling users to research topics such as active IGOs working on HIV/AIDS in Uganda….”

 

United Nations (UN)

UNITED NATIONS 

UN Women
http://www.unwomen.org/ This entity merges and builds on the  work of four previously distinct parts of the UN system, which focused exclusively on gender equality and women’s empowerment:

            OSAGI - Office of the Special Adviser on Gender Issues and Advancement of Women
           
http://www.un.org/womenwatch/osagi/

            DAW - United Nations Division for the Advancement of Women
                http://www.un.org/womenwatch/daw/

                UNIFEM - United Nations Development Fund for Women
                http://www.unifem.org/

                INSTRAW - UN Int’l Research and Training Institute for the Advancement of Women 
                http://www.un-instraw.org/

 Directory of UN Resources on Gender and Women's Issues (WomenWatch)
http://www.un.org/womenwatch/directory/UN_conferences_meetings_special_days_40.htm

Beijing & its Follow-up
http://www.un.org/womenwatch/daw/beijing/index.html 

UN Population Fund
http://www.unfpa.org/public/
                Reproductive Rights
               
http://www.unfpa.org/rights/rights.htm

 

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (adopted 18 December 1979, entered into force 3 September 1981) 1249 UNTS 13. . http://www.un.org/womenwatch/daw/cedaw/

 

UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (adopted 13 December 2006, entered into force 3 May 2008) GAOR 61st Session Supp 49 vol 1, 65. http://www.un.org/disabilities/convention/conventionfull.shtml  http://www.un.org/depts/dhl/resguide/r61.htm  --- Scroll down to A/RES/61/106

 

 

Fourth World Conference on Women ‘Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action’ (17 October 1995) UN Doc A/CONF.177/20, 4. http://www.un.org/documents/ga/conf177/plateng/aconf177-20-tocen.htm.

 

International Conference on Population and Development ‘Programme of Action of the International Conference on Population and Development’ (13 September 1994) A/CONF171/13/Rev 1, 2 (Cairo Programme of Action). http://www.un.org/popin/icpd2.htm

 

UN Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women ‘General Recommendation No 19: Violence against Women’ (30 January 1992) GAOR 47th Session Supp 38, 1. . http://www.un.org/womenwatch/daw/cedaw/recommendations/recomm.htm#recom19

 

 

UNGA ‘Follow-up to the Outcome of the Millennium Summit’ (15 September 2005) UN Doc A/60/L.1. http://www.un.org/en/ga/62/plenary/millennium/bkg.shtml

 

UNGA Res 55/2 ‘United Nations Millennium Declaration’ (8 September 2000) GAOR 55th Session Supp 49 vol 1, 4. http://www.un.org/millennium/declaration/ares552e.htm

 

UN HRC ‘Communication No. 1153/2003 Karen Noelia Llantoy Huamán v Peru’ (24 October 2005) GAOR 61st Session Supp 40 vol 2, 214. http://www1.umn.edu/humanrts/undocs/1153-2003.html

 

UN HRC ‘General Comment No 28: Equality of Rights between Men and Women (Art. 3)’ (29 March 2000) GAOR 55th Session Supp 40 vol 1, 133. .  http://www.unhchr.ch/tbs/doc.nsf/(Symbol)/13b02776122d4838802568b900360e80?Opendocument  (see http://www2.ohchr.org/english/bodies/hrc/comments.htm )                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      

 

UN International Human Rights Instruments ‘Compilation of General Comments and General Recommendations Adopted by Human Rights Treaty Bodies’ (8 May 2006) UN Doc HRI/GEN/1/Rev.8. http://www.unhchr.ch/tbs/doc.nsf/0/c0d3f2ece536881fc1257186004454b2/$FILE/G0641864.pdf

 

Locate CEDAW Country Reports

TO LOCATE TEXT OF CEDAW COUNTRY REPORTS follow these steps:

Go to UNBISNet
http://unbisnet.un.org/
1. Under "Bibliographic Records," click on "New Keyword Search"
2. Enter Search  (Note---it is Case Sensitive):
             UN Document Series Symbol: CEDAW
AND
            General Keyword: Name of Country
AND
            General Keyword: report*

3.You will see a list of document titles.
Some will have links to full text.

4.For those documents that DO NOT have a link to the text, write down the UN Document number.

5.Go to the UN ODS ( Official Document System of the UN) ) database http://documents.un.org/

6. Click on “Welcome”. Click on “ADVANCED SEARCH”.

7. Type the UN Document number in the “symbol” field. Click “SEARCH”. If results are not satisfactory, re-do the search typing only the first part of the UN Document number in the “symbol” field, and then click on “right” “symbol truncation”.

8. Click on relevant result(s). Note link to display or download document.

 

 

Europe

EUROPE

European Union— Gender Equality

A TO Z Index of European Union Web Sites
http://ec.europa.eu/atoz_en.htm

 

European Court of Human Rights (Strasbourg)

COE ‘Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms’ (signed 4 November 1950, entered into force 3 September 1953) 213 UNTS 221. http://conventions.coe.int/Treaty/en/Treaties/Html/005.htm

 

Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (US Helsinki Commission)
http://www.csce.gov/

 

The Americas

THE AMERICAS

Organization of American States
http://www.oas.org/en/default.asp
            Interamerican Commission on Human Rights
           
http://www.cidh.oas.org/defaulte.htm

              Inter-American Commission of Women
              http://www.oas.org/cim/default.asp

 

                           Statute of the Inter-American Commission of Women
                           http://www.jus.uio.no/english/services/library/treaties/02/2-04/oas_statute_cim.xml

 

American Declaration of the Rights and Duties of Man (approved 10 December 1948) (1949) 43 AJIL Supp 133. http://www.oas.org/juridico/english/ga-res98/eres1591.htm

American Convention on Human Rights (signed 22 November 1969, entered into force 18 July 1978) 1144 UNTS 123 (Pact of San José).http://www.oas.org/juridico/english/treaties/b-32.html

 Additional Protocol to the American Convention on Human Rights in the Area of Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (done 14 November 1988, entered into force 16 November 1999) (1989) 28 ILM 156 (Protocol of San Salvador). http://www.oas.org/juridico/english/treaties/a-52.html

 Inter-American Convention on the Prevention, Punishment, and Eradication of Violence against Women (entered into force 5 March 1995) 33 IL M 1534 (1994) (Belém do Pará Convention). http://www.oas.org/juridico/english/treaties/a-61.html

 

 

 

Africa

AFRICA (AU, formerly the OAU)

African Union
http://www.au.int/en/

African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights
http://www.achpr.org/ 

African Commission Case Law Analyzer
http://caselaw.ihrda.org/

 

African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (adopted 27 June 1981, entered into force 21 October 1986) 1520 UNTS 217 (Banjul Charter). http://www.achpr.org/english/_info/charter_en.html

 

Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights on the Rights of Women in Africa (adopted 11 July 2003, entered into force 25 November 2005) OAU Doc CAB/LEG/66.6 reprinted in (2001) 1 AfrHumRtsLJ 53 (Maputo Protocol). http://www1.umn.edu/humanrts/africa/protocol-women2003.html

 

World Health Organization

WHO

Sexual & Reproductive Health
--Topics http://www.who.int/reproductivehealth/topics/en/
-----Publications (most can be downloaded) http://www.who.int/reproductivehealth/publications/general/en/


e.g., Considerations for Formulating Reproductive Health Laws (2d ed.)
http://www.who.int/reproductivehealth/publications/gender_rights/RHR_00_1/en/index.html


e.g.,WHO ‘Creating a Supportive Legislative and Regulatory Framework’ Reproductive Health and Research Policy Brief 3-- 2006 http://www.who.int/reproductivehealth/publications/general/pbrief3/en/index.html

 

UN High Commissioner for Human Rights & more

United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
 http://www.ohchr.org/english/

            Treaty Bodies Database 
          http://tb.ohchr.org/default.aspx
                  
Useful for locating CEDAW and other country reports

            Charter-Based Bodies Database
          http://ap.ohchr.org/Documents/gmainec.aspx

.           Human Rights Bodies
          http://www.ohchr.org/EN/HRBodies/Pages/HumanRightsBodies.aspx

            Universal Periodic Review
            
(
a process involving a review of the human rights records of all 192 UN Member States once every four years. )

          http://www.ohchr.org/EN/HRBodies/UPR/Pages/UPRMain.aspx

            Thematic Mandates
          http://www2.ohchr.org/english/bodies/chr/special/themes.htm

                   Special Rapporteur on violence against women, its causes and consequences
                        http://www2.ohchr.org/english/issues/women/rapporteur/index.htm

 Global Issues on the UN Agenda
http://www.un.org/issues/
            examine the topics: Population, Women, Family, Children, Statistics…

 

Try this portal for UN matrial as well:

Bayefsky.com
http://www.bayefsky.com/ 
Information on the UN human rights treaty system & its monitoring treaty bodies. Includes reports & documents from human rights treaty monitoring bodies.

 



Charles B. Sears Law Library • O'Brian Hall • North Campus • Buffalo, NY 14260 • ph:716-645-2047
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip