Academic CareersAreas of PracticeArmed ForcesBar AssociationsBar Exam PrepCareer DevelopmentCorporations/BusinessEnvironmentalGeneral WebsitesGovernment: FederalGovernment: State & LocalGrants & ScholarshipsIntellectual PropertyInternational LawJob BooksJob SearchJudicial ClerkshipLabor LawLaw FirmsLaw PracticeNon-traditional CareersPublic InterestSolo PracticeSubscriptions
Dual DegreesLL.M.OCI
This is the "Government: Federal" page of the "Career Services Office Information Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Career Services Office Information Guide   Tags: career, clerkships, cover letters, foundations, grants, interviewing, jobs, law practice, networking, public interest, resumes  

Search here for information on law careers
Last Updated: Aug 12, 2016 URL: http://lawlib.buffalo.libguides.com/CSO Print Guide RSS Updates

Government: Federal Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Government Agencies

    

  

   

 

Books you can borrow from the CSO

All of these books are available in 608 O'Brian Hall to be checked out for two weeks at a time. If the title of the book is a link, click to see if it is also available to buy or access online.


Criminal Process - Harry I. Subin; Chester L. Mirsky; Ian S. Weinstein
Call Number: CSO Library KF 9640 582
ISBN: 9780314011268
Publication Date: 1993-02-01
Using federal law as a model, the book describes and illustrates the formal rules and informal practices governing prosecutors and defense attorneys at each state of the process from the decision to charge to disposition by trial or plea. This book was written to bridge the gap between the literature available to students interested in criminal procedure doctrine and/or the practice of criminal law. In addition, this book was recommended by a UB Law student who thought it would be very helpful to first-year law students who may be spending their first-year summer in a prosecutor's office (state or federal).

Federal Legal Employment Opportunities Guide - NALP
Call Number: PDF
Publication Date: 2011-12
This is a general reference guide and has been designed to complement the expanded "federal government resources" webpage.

Government Honors & Internship Handbook - University of Arizona Law School
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2011-12
Contains comprehensive information about federal and state/local honors (postgraduate) and internship opportunities such as workplace information, hiring criteria, deadlines, submission information, hot links to web sites and on-line applications. Also contains a schedule of deadlines and a copy of the GS salary scale.
Password: buffalo

How to Get a Job in Congress (Without Winning an Election) - Christopher Porter
Call Number: CSO Library JK 1083 P67
Publication Date: 2000
For those seeking a job in Congress or wanting to know what it is like to be a staffer on Capitol Hill. Provides a step-by-step plan and a down-to-earth look at the unique job opportunities in the House of Representatives and the Senate. Offers frank and funny inside information tips.

How to Pay for Your Law Degree 2015 - 2017 - Gail A. Schlachter; R. David Weber
Call Number: PDF
ISBN: 1588411087
Publication Date: 2015
A list of Fellowships, Grants, Loans and Loan Repayment Programs, Bar Exam Stipends and Loans, Competitions, Internships, and Other Funding Programs set aside to Support Study, Training, Research and Creative Activities and Work Experience for Students Working on a Degree in Law. Plus an Annotated Bibliography and a Set of Six Indexes: Program Title, Sponsor, Residency, Tenability, Specialty and Deadline.

Landing a Federal Legal Job: Finding Success in the US Government Job Market - Richard L. Hermann
Call Number: CSO Library KF 299 G6
ISBN: 1616328355
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
This new book is designed to give readers the edge in pursuing a US government attorney or law-related position and to provide a solid understanding of the US government’s legal employment opportunities and hiring processes. Addresses federal legal demographics, the pros and cons of a federal legal career, where the federal lawyers are, how the government hires lawyers, frequently asked questions about landing a federal legal job, getting hired, long-term trends, and where to work. "Hidden" law-related jobs and functional areas with a strong future are also discussed, and the appendices point to a wealth of additional resources.

Opportunities for Law Students and Entry-Level Attorneys - U.S Department of Justice
Call Number: Brochure available at CSO
Volunteer legal internship

Vault Guide to the Top Government and Non-Profit Legal Employers - Marcy Lerner
ISBN: 1581312148
Publication Date: 2003-07-03
This guide includes profiles of 50 of the top employers in the government and nonprofit sector – focusing on the federal government and nonprofit organizations that focus exclusively on legal issues. Each of the profiles contain locations, major department/practices, stats, uppers and downers, salary, employment contact, the scoop, and getting hired. Additionally, some profiles feature quotes from surveys and interviews with employees about the culture, pay, hours, training and other issues relevant to job seekers.

The United States Department of Justice Practice Area Chart - The United States Department of Justice
Call Number: Brochure available at CSO
As our nation's largest legal employer, Justice offers opportunities for law students and attorneys in virtually every legal practice area. This chart will help you explore the work of various DOJ organizations, and find those that best match your interests and expertise.

 

Books you can borrow from the SUNY BUffalo Libraries

These books are available through the UB Library system. You can check them out using your UB ID card. Click on the title of the book to see its catalog entry in BISON and to locate it on campus.

Congressional Staff Directory
Call Number: JK1012 C65
Lists members of Congress, staff, along with Executive Branch, independent agencies, and federal judiciary.

Also available online at the LEXIS-NEXIS CAREER library.

Congressional Yellow Book
Leadership Directories. Who's who in congress, including committees and key staff. Subscription required for online access.

Federal Book - Leadership Directories, Inc
Directory of the executive branch of the federal government. Quarterly. Subscription required.

Federal Careers for Attorneys
This contains detailed descriptions of federal agencies which employ attorneys along with links to relevant web pages on those agencies’ websites. It also provides access to federal application forms, salary charts and The Plum Book. Additionally, you can search the database to find federal agencies’ regional offices located around the country and around the world. Search over 100 practice areas to find the agencies that need lawyers with certain practice specialization.

From Westlaw go to Home>Career Focus>Law Student Jobs Online>Federal Careers for Attorneys.

Federal Regional Yellow Book - Leadership Directories, Inc
Call Number: JK6 .F425
Who's who in federal government departments, agencies, courts, military installations, and service academies outside of Washington, DC.

Federal Regulatory Directory
Call Number: KF5406 A15.F4
Publication Date: 13th ed., 2008
Background information on all relevant federal agencies (executive and legislative branches). Includes agency responsibilities, history, powers and authority, organization structure, (who's who, sub-bureaus, regional offices). A MUST if you are interviewing with any of these agencies.

Federal Staff Directory - Federal Directories, Ltd.
Call Number: JK723.E9 F4
Publication Date: 2008
Lists 30,000 key executives who draft regulations, interpret and implement policy, disseminate information, contract for goods and services, and make government decisions in general.

Foreign Representatives in the US Yellow Book - Leadership Directory
Directory of foreign corporations, foreign nations, the foreign press, and intergovernmental organizations. Provides contact information for over 19,000 international business and government leaders.

Landing a Federal Legal Job: Finding success in the U.S. Government Job Market - Richard L. Hermann
Call Number: Law Library General KF 299 .G6 H473 2011
Publication Date: 2011

Now Hiring - Griffin, Moira K. Willard, Abbie F.
Call Number: Law Library General KF299 .G6 N6
ISBN: 0897071344
Describes job opportunities for lawyers and law students at the entry level of executive, legislative, and judicial branches and in independent agencies.

The ALJ Handbook: An Insider's Guide to Becoming a Federal Administrative Law Judge - Federal Reports
Call Number: KF5421.A95
Publication Date: 1997
Includes background information, a look at the ALJ examination and application procedures, agencies which use the ALJ, and geographic locations. This new edition contains detailed information on the new scoring system and insights on how to succeed on the ALJ Exam

The DOJ Experience
Listen to the US Department of Justice (DOJ) attorneys and legal interns tell you about the opportunities available at the DOJ and what they enjoy the most about practicing law at the Nation's largest law firm

The United States Government Manual
Call Number: JK421 .A3
Describes responsibilities of federal agencies & dept; lists key personnel; well-indexed so job seekers may cross-reference substantive areas to each organization.

Also available online via WESTLAW.

Washington Information Directory
Call Number: F192.3 .W33
Annual Congressional Quarterly, 2001-02. Thousands of names, addresses and phone number for federal government and many private groups in its orbit. Groups listed span fields of education, environment, employment, government services health, housing, agriculture, transportation and more. Cross-indexed by subject and name of organization.

Other Materials you Can Borrow from SUNY Buffalo Libraries

These are non-book resources that are available through the UB Library system.  You can check them out using your UB ID card.  Click on the title of the book to see its catalog entry in BISON and to locate it on campus.

Websites about this topic

Here is a collection of websites for related professional associations, resource pages, blogs etc.  Please report dead links to law-careers@buffalo.edu.

  • Best Places to Work in the Federal Governmnet
    Includes 2011 rankings. Created by the Partnership for Public Service and American University's Institute for the Study of Public Policy Implementation. A comprehensive and authoritative rating and analysis of employee satisfaction in the federal government. Draws on responses from close to 150,000 civil servants to produce detailed rankings of employee engagement across 250 federal agencies and sub-components. Offers a snapshot overview of each agency and sub-component, trend data on changes since 2003, tips and information for job seekers, and expert analysis of what the results mean. Includes categories such as "Effective Leadership" and "Work/Life Balance."
  • Public Service Jobs Directory - Career Central
    Click on the Resource Center tab for Career Central. Contains outlined information on Why Work for the US Government; Where are the Jobs?; Practicing Law in the Military; Compensation & LRAPS; Security Clearance and US Citizenship Requirements; and much more. A distilled version of this information is available in the 2012-13 NALP Federal Legal Employment Opportunities Guide (PDF).
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation Jobs
    View jobs and apply; explore career paths (Special Agent and Professional Staff opportunities), recruiting events; the Student Center lists information on their Internship Programs; learn more about the Life @ FBI, Diversity Programs and the Background Investigation process; includes FAQs, local field offices, and more.
  • FedWorld Information Network
    Central access points for searching, locating, ordering and acquiring government and business information. Browse the Federal Job Announcement Database to review current jobs available in the US Government.
  • Go Government
    A great place to search federal jobs and internships, which is run by the Partnership for Public Service. Its Federal Internship Directory can be a helpful tool in finding internship programs. Check out their new videos, which spotlight a "day in the life" of young federal employees and give an inside look at their careers and why they chose public service.
  • Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
    Lists openings in the US and abroad in policy, foreign affairs, international trade and finance. Subscribe weekly or monthly. Reduced rates for students, recent graduates and volunteers.
  • International Jobs Center and International Career Weekly
    Lists openings in the US and abroad in policy, foreign affairs, international trade and finance. Subscribe weekly or monthly. Reduced rates for students, recent graduates and volunteers.
  • United States House of Representatives
    Website for the U.S. House of Representatives, including a link to employment opportunities.
  • United States Senate
    Website for the U.S. Senate.
  • Library of Congress
    Use their "Explore the Internet" option to reach a list of links, including the Official Federal Government Web Site listing (under "Browse Government Resources") and State/Local Government sites.
  • Office of the Comptroller of the Currency - U.S. Dept. of Treasury
    Chief Counsel's Employment Program for Law Graduates.
  • Overseas Private Investment Corporation
    Information regarding OPIC, the Department of Legal Affairs, OPIC's internship program and the Legal Affairs on-line application form can be found on their website.
  • Partnership for Public Service
    The Partnership works to make the government an employer of choice for talented, dedicated Americans through educational outreach, research, legislative advocacy, and hands-on partnerships with agencies on workforce management issues. The "Work for USA" section lists resources to help you understand, find and apply for jobs. Includes a quick guide on the Federal Student Loan Repayment Program. The back of the guide also provides details on government-entry programs including the Presidential Management Fellows program.
  • Presidential Management Fellows Program - U.S. Offc. of Personnel Management
    The purpose of the Program is to attract to the Federal service individuals from a variety of academic disciplines and career paths who have a clear interest in, and commitment to, excellence in the leadership and management of public policies and programs. Fully describes the program, eligibility, nomination and assessment process, as well as selection and appointment. Also has a "frequently asked questions and answers" section. A good resource for understanding non-attorney jobs that may be relevant to law graduates.
  • U.S. Deptartment of Agriculture
  • U.S. Deptartment of Commerce
  • U.S. Deptartment of Defense
  • U.S. Deptartment of Education
  • U.S. Deptartment of Energy
  • U.S. Deptartment of Health and Human Services
  • U.S. Deptartment of Housing and Urban Development
  • U.S. Deptartment of the Interior - Office of the Solicitor
  • U.S. Deptartment of Justice, Office of Attorney Recruitment and Manangement
    Provides access to current DOJ listings generally for experienced attorneys. General information about hiring (experienced attorneys, Honors Program, interns). Links to "Other Federal Government Sites" and "Other Information Sites", which includes state/local governments, law schools and libraries and legal research sources.
  • U.S. Deptartment of Labor
  • U.S. Deptartment of State
    Provides information on the Foreign Service Officer and Specialist positions; civil service opportunities, as well as student programs.
  • U.S. Deptartment of Transportation
  • U.S. Deptartment of Treasury
  • U.S. Deptartment of Veterans Affairs
  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
    Provides information about the EPA, Projects and Programs, Publications, Laws and Regulations, Databases and Software, and Other Resources. The Offices, Labs & Regions section allows you to select a region of choice and visit their web page.
  • U.S. EPA Region 5 Office of Regional Counsel
    Site includes contacts, job and intern information, reports, links and resources related to the EPA, especially Region 5 (IL, IN, MI, MN, OH & WI).
  • United States Equal Employment Opportunities Commission
    Excellent resource for all the information you need on equal employment--press releases, publications, and links to ADA information, the Census Bureau, etc.
  • U.S. Government Accountability Office
  • USA Jobs
    Federal government's official one-stop source for Federal jobs and employment information. Operated by the Office of Personnel Management, the site to find and apply for Federal positions. Contains reference material about the application and employment process.
  • USA Jobs - Student Jobs
    Contains directory of Federal jobs by college major, internship job postings, and information about applying for Federal jobs after graduation.
  • ConservativeJobs.com
    Funded by the Leadership Institute, this site connects politically-minded law students with quality internships and both traditional and nontraditional legal careers. This free website provides students and alumni with opportunities within Capitol Hill, trade associations and the non-profit sector. Students can log-on to create a professional profile and search for jobs; employers can post their own job announcements, search for qualified candidates and contact registered job seekers directly.
  • Federal Times.com
    Website includes a great section on careers.
  • FedJobs.com
    Federal Jobs Central from Federal Research Services, Inc.
  • FedScope.com
    Section of the U.S. Office of Personnel Management website dedicated to statistics and data on hiring.
  • U.S Government Printing Office
    Online library of wide variety of government resources and information.
  • United States Government Manual
    Good overview and general information about the Legislative Branch, Judicial Branch, Executive Branch, Executive Agencies, Independent Establishments and Government Corporations, Quasi-Official Agencies.
  • Opportunities in Public Affairs
    Covers positions in Government Affairs, Legislation, Public Policy, Research, Programs and Administration in the Washington, DC area with the federal government, think tanks, nonprofits and government relations departments of major corporations. Lists featured selections below or subscribe for all the listings in your field.
  • USA Search - by U.S. Government Services Administration (GSA)
    Specialized search engine run by the US General Services Administration's (GSA) Office of Citizen Services and Innovative Technologies. Allows detailed, targeted searches.
  • The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal
    Good listing of agencies; has an A to Z index of agency websites. Includes links to state/local/tribal government websites as well.
  • Student Loan Expert Heaather Jarvis
    Former contributor to student debt relief policy for the House Education Committee and others in Congress. Heather has dedicated her professional efforts to advancing public service loan forgiveness which allows recent graduates to dedicate their careers to the greater good. Heather leads efforts to establish and expand debt relief programs and to inform borrowers, schools, and employers about how to benefit from available debt relief programs. She offers free educational resources and presentations, and posts student debt relief announcements and important news on her website and blog.

Charles B. Sears Law Library • O'Brian Hall • North Campus • Buffalo, NY 14260 • ph:716-645-2047
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip