This is the "Journal Articles" page of the "Basic Research Tools" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Basic Research Tools   Tags: alerts, articles, blogs, books, e-book, internet, news, search engines  

Try these basic resources to begin any research project.
Last Updated: Nov 13, 2017 URL: http://lawlib.buffalo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=379742 Print Guide RSS Updates

Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Megasearching

These resources search across all disciplines and multiple databases

  • Everything (search over 100 databases AND the UB Online Catalog at once!)
     
  • Academic Search Complete (multidisciplinary; full text articles)
     
  • Google Scholar (links to full text of articles from certain UB databases. See directions for setting preferences here.
    • Advanced Google Scholar Tips (pdf)

  • EbscoHost Research Databases (search scores of commercial databases (many subjects) simultaneously).

 

More Indexes to Journals and Other Materials

Go to the UB Libraries “Research Guides” page.

Select guides from a variety of subjects. The databases listed will lead you to journal articles and other materials.

Here are just a few subjects/databases you will find under this sampling of subjects:

Law & Legal Studies--Foreign & International
Databases include:
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law Online

Law & Legal Studies--United States
Databases include:
ProQuest Congressional
HeinOnline
Eighteenth Century Collection Online
Bloomberg BNA
Religion Case Reporter
RIA Checkpoint
Cambridge Histories Online

Global Gender Studies
Databases include:
Gender Watch
Academic Search Complete
LGBT Life with Full Text
SocINDEX (Sociology)
PsycINFO

History--World
Databases include:
Historical Abstracts
JSTOR
Periodicals Archive Online (19thC-1995)
Periodicals Index Online (1770-1995)
Project Muse
Cambridge Histories Online
Oxford Bibliographies
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Chicago Defender (1910-1975)- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
New York Times (1851-2010) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers with Index (1851-1993)
Dissertations and Theses

Political Science
Databases include:
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
PAIS International Online
Political Science Database
CQ Press Library
Policy File Index
CIAO
Data Archives

Medicine
Databases include:
PubMed
MEDLINE
EMBASE
Web
of Science
Scopus
CINAHL
Plus

 

Find Law Review and Journal Articles - USE INDEXES

Search these legal periodical indexes to identify relevant articles. Be creative with your search terms. Try very general as well as specific searches.

If needed, DON'T HESITATE to consult a librarian for assistance obtaining the FULL TEXT of any article identified.

ONLINE Legal Periodical Indexes:


 

ONLINE Indexes with Quickest CURRENT coverage:

 

ONLINE Indexes with Foreign & International Coverage:

 

 

Indexes in PAPER format:

  • Index to Legal Periodical Literature K 9 N319 (1888-1939)
  • Index to Legal Periodicals K9 N32 (1926-1994)
  • Index to Legal Periodicals & Books K9 N32 (1994-present)
  • Current Law Index K33 .C87(1980-2006)
  • Annual Legal Bibliography K 38 H365 (Ref) (1960-1981)
  • Subject Compilations of State Laws KF 240 S795 (Ref) (1960 - present) Identify law review articles and books that cite to state statutes on specific topics.

 

Indexes in PAPER format with Foreign & International Coverage:

  • Public International Law JZ 5 P83 (Ref) (1975-2000, 2006-present)
  • Index to Canadian Legal Literature ( Canadian abridgment, second edition)  KE1 I53 (1981-2007) Also known as: Canadian current law, 1988-1990; and Canadian legal literature, 1991-.
  • Index to Canadian legal periodical literature (Canadian Association of Law Libraries)
     KE8 .I53  (1961-2006)
  • Szladits' Bibliography on Foreign and Comparative Law K38 B536 (Ref) (1984-1998)

You can also find relevant articles and other scholarly information by searching other online databases available at UB.


*Westlaw/Lexis access is restricted to law students only

 

Where Can I find that Article?

To locate journals at UB (once you have a citation to an article):

1. To find out if UB owns a particular journal, type the name of the JOURNAL (NOT the article title)
in the UB Online Catalog as a TITLE search (or try the "
Classic Catalog").

2. To find out if UB has access to a particular journal in full text ONLINE, type the name of the JOURNAL
in Electronic Journal Holdings or “
E-Journals

3. Many databases link directly to the full text of articles. Follow the links.  Google Scholar can be set up to link to UB databases from off campus (see directions under "off-campus use") (for current UB students and faculty).

 

 

Get an Article UB Does Not Own

SIGN UP FOR "Delivery+" (UB’s Inter-Library Loan Service)
(formerly known as ILLIAD)

Delivery+ Logon
Delivery+ FAQs

Use this service to order books, articles and other materials that are not available in the UB Law Library.

This service can also be used to have materials delivered from the Health Sciences Library (South Campus) and the Annex (off-campus storage).

Need help?

Profile Image
Law Reference Librarians
Contact Info
(716) 645-2047
 

More Useful Resources

Annuals and Surveys Appearing in Legal Periodicals - Catherine Kerr & Joy Humphrey
Call Number: LAW Ref Desk KF 8 D45 1996
Publication Date: regularly updated
Lists law reviews and legal journals with regular updates on new developments in the law.
Includes:
state surveys,
U. S. Supreme Court & other federal court surveys,
and
topical surveys.


Charles B. Sears Law Library • O'Brian Hall • North Campus • Buffalo, NY 14260 • ph:716-645-2047
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip