This is the "Research Strategy" page of the "Courts & Social Change" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Courts & Social Change  

Last Updated: Oct 2, 2013 URL: http://lawlib.buffalo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=383780 Print Guide RSS Updates
Research Strategy Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Strategy

                  

Courts and Social Change
Fall 2013
RESEARCH STRATEGY

Marcia Zubrow
University at Buffalo Law Library

llmarcia@buffalo.edu

 

Books, etc.

LOOK FOR BOOKS, JOURNALS AND OTHER MATERIALS
 
UB Libraries ONLINE CATALOG
Use to find books and other materials in the University at Buffalo Libraries Collections
Two versions of the ONLINE CATALOG:
1. The Classic Catalog
2. The Catalog (Search and Discovery)

WorldCat
Use to find books and other materials held by thousands of libraries in the US and worldwide. Order materials through Interlibrary Loan (Illiad) if UB does not own. Allow at least 2-3 weeks.
 
Library Online catalogs from around the world
Allow several weeks for Interlibrary Loan if UB does not own the materials. Ask a reference librarian for assistance.
 
More information:

See the Research Tools Guide

 

Articles (Commercial Databases)

LOOK FOR ARTICLES AND OTHER MATERIALS

LINKS TO LEGAL WEBSITES
Arranged by Jurisdictions
Arranged by Subjects

COMMERCIAL DATABASES (Restricted to UB Patrons)
Go to “Resources by Subject" page for UB Libraries
Select databases from a variety of subjects such as Law, Business and Management, Political Science, Global Gender Studies, Health Sciences, and others. These will lead you to journal articles and other materials.
 
Law- United States
ProQuest Congressional
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
LegalTrac
HeinOnline
CQ Electronic Library
EBSCOhost MasterFILE Premier
Bloomberg BNA Databases online –numerous legal subjects
CCH Wolters Kluwer Intelliconnect – numerous legal subjects
 
Law —International
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
LegalTrac
CIAO
EBSCOhost MasterFILE Premier
International Trade Reporter (Bloomberg BNA)
 
Business and Management
Business Source Complete
Hoover's - information on public and public companies worldwide
 
History:
-United States
-World 
America: History and Life
Historical Abstracts (World History)
JSTOR
Periodicals Index Online (1700's-1995)
Proquest Dissertations and Theses
Web of Science (Social Sciences Citation Index)
APS Online (American Periodicals Archive Online 1740-1900)

Political Science 
PAIS International Online (1915 to present)
International Political Science Abstracts (1989 to present)
Web of Science – Social Sciences Citation Index
JSTOR

Sociology
SocIndex
JSTOR

Statistical Information
Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878 to present)
Online
Print: HA 202 A2 Law Library Current year at Reference Desk; Earlier years in General Collection
ProQuest Statistical Insight - Federal and State governmental and intergovernmental organizations statistical information
 
Global Gender Studies 
Academic Search Complete
Gender Watch

Anthropology 
Anthropological Literature
Anthropological Index Online
JSTOR
 
One Stop Searching Opportunities:
Everything+ - Search online catalog and scholarly articles in many different databases at the same time.
Articles+ - Search for scholarly articles in many different databases at the same time.

 
To locate journals at UB (once you have a citation to an article):
1. To find out if UB owns a particular journal, type the name of the JOURNAL (NOT the article title) in the Online Catalog as a TITLE search.
Hint: When you know an exact title, it is best to use the "Classic" catalog.
 2. To find out if UB has access to a particular journal in full text ONLINE, type the name of the JOURNAL in Electronic Journal Holdings

 

Law and Society Journals

Look at Journals to Find Research Topics: Use the e-journals database to locate the electronic version or the online catalog to locate the print version of the journals

Journal of Empirical Legal Studies - HeinOnline and Wiley Blackwell Full Collection

Law and Policy - HeinOnline and Wiley Blackwell Full Collection

Law and Social Inquiry - HeinOnline and Wiley Blackwell Full Collection

Law and Society Review - HeinOnline

 

Polls and Polling Information

Polling: Websites
Gallup Poll
Pew Charitable Trusts
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research – ipoll databank
     Best link is from the online catalog: Roper Center
Other Polling Websites see:
Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research (Cornell University)
     Public Opinion Surveys

Qunnipiac University Polling Institute primarily polling on politics and election issues

Siena College Research Institute - national, regional, and statewide surveys of experts and public opinion polls

Election Polls Websites:
Real Clear Politics

 Polling: Articles
--Thompson, Gary and Conley, Sean
Guide to public opinion poll Web sites: Polling data from around the world (pdf)
College and Research Libraries News, October 2006 vol. 67, no. 9 pp.566-570  
 --Woods, Stephen
Public Opinion Poll Question Databases: An Evaluation
Journal of Academic Librarianship, Jan 2007 vol. 33, no. 1 pp. 41-46 

Polling: Encyclopedia
Polling America: an Encyclopedia of Public Opinion by Samuel J. Best and Benjamin Radcliff
2005 2v. Lockwood Reference HN90.P8P645 2005

 

LEXIS, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law

CHECK LEXIS DATABASES
Search the LexisNexis Source Finder to help identify relevant databases

 CHECK WESTLAW DATABASES
 LJI (Legal Journals Index)—British & European Law Journals On WestlawNext
 CILP (Current Index to Legal Periodicals) on Westlaw Classic
 LRI (Legal Resource Index) on Westlaw Classic

CHECK BLOOMBERG LAW DATABASES

Note: Non-Law Students use LexisNexis Academic

 

News & Blogs

LOOK FOR NEWS (legal and general) SOURCES and BLOGS

News
LEXIS-NEXIS
Westlaw
Bloomberg Law
Factiva
Onlinenewspapers.com (available on the internet)
Worldwide newspapers, many in English
Links to News & Other Media
Abyz News Links (worldwide news sources)
Google News Search

Legal News
Jurist
LEXIS
WESTLAW
BLOOMBERG LAW
 

Blogs - Legal
BlawgSearch (Justia)
Law Professor Blogs Network
Blog Directory (ABA Journal) - Subject arrangement

Blogs - General
Google Blog Search 

 

Internet Searching

CHECK INTERNET SEARCH ENGINES and WEBSITES

LexisWeb
A free website with federal, state, and local government information, legal blogs, and general information on legal topics.

Google Scholar
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Not comprehensive!!
 
Ipl2 (merger of Librarians’ Index to the Internet and Internet Public Library)

OneWorld.Net
OneWorld is a community of over 1500 organizations working for social justice

Open Directory Project
"Largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of the Web."

Also search other general Internet search engines: (Hint: Use Advance Search for better results)
Google

Yahoo

Ask.com

Others

CHECK LAW PORTALS
On the LibGuides by various subjects


Charles B. Sears Law Library • O'Brian Hall • North Campus • Buffalo, NY 14260 • ph:716-645-2047
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip