This is the "Tips" page of the "LAWR III (Prof. Haynes)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LAWR III (Prof. Haynes)  

Created for Prof. Haynes' Spring 2014 class
Last Updated: Mar 1, 2014 URL: http://lawlib.buffalo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=566845 Print Guide RSS Updates

Tips Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

TIPS - WestlawNext

Listed here are a few of Joe Gerken's  handy tips for searching Westlaw Next.

SECONDARY SOURCES
 

  • Select either law reviews or texts & treatises
  • Once in a database, select the “Advanced” feature
  • Use term frequency
  • The title field is also useful
  • Limiting by date can be helpful
  • You can sort by date or “most cited”
  • Skim items using the “term” function

    
    
    FOLDERS

  • Create a discrete folder for this class
  • You can save full text or citation lists
  • In full text, you can highlight text & add a note
  • Save only the most important items - don’t be a hoarder

    
    
    CASES - SELECTING DATABASES
 

  • Select the smallest database that has all of the cases you want to find
    E.g. if researching New York cases just choose that database
  • To find cases in more than one database, do your search in a broader database, then select your jurisdictions
       Eg. to get only U.S. Supreme Court and Second Circuit cases:
             Choose ”All Federal Cases” - run your search
                   Then narrow by jurisdiction > “Supreme Court” and “Second Circuit”

    
    
    CASES - QUERIES

  • Once in a database use the “Advanced” feature
  • Use the synopsis - digest field
  • You can also use term frequency
  • Scan cases for useful topic/key numbers - then search those key numbers
  • You can sort by date or “most cited”

    
    
    KEY CITE

  • Limit your results by depth of treatment and jurisdiction
  • You can also limit by date
  • Or by headnote (holding) number

Need help?

Profile Image
Law Reference Librarians
Contact Info
(716) 645-2047
 

Charles B. Sears Law Library • O'Brian Hall • North Campus • Buffalo, NY 14260 • ph:716-645-2047
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip