This is the "News, Business & Legal Databases" page of the "LexisNexis Academic - Alternative Resources at SUNY Buffalo " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LexisNexis Academic - Alternative Resources at SUNY Buffalo  

Due to budgetary constraints, the University at Buffalo Libraries canceled its subscription to the LexisNexis Academic database as of Sept. 1, 2015. Consult this guide for alternative news, business and legal resources available at SUNY Buffalo.
Last Updated: Nov 1, 2017 URL: http://lawlib.buffalo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=679374 Print Guide RSS Updates
News, Business & Legal Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

News Databases

  • Factiva  
      
      Icon
    Factiva is a powerful database system which provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and financial data from thousands of sources worldwide, covering virtually every subject category.
  • Newspaper Source Plus  Icon
    Includes 1570 full-text newspapers made up of US regional and national, international (mostly British Commonwealth) and campus papers; newswires; and TV/radio news transcripts (including ABC, CBS, NPR, CNN and others).
  • InfoTrac Newsstand  Icon
    InfoTrac Newsstand is a collection of more than 1000 English-language domestic and international news sources including newspapers, newswires and media transcripts. Titles are heavily from the US and Commonwealth countries. Coverage is full-text with several search options. Most are 21st century with some titles starting in the 1980s. View a list of titles under the Publication Search tab.
  • Google News  Icon
    "Google News is a computer-generated news service that aggregates headlines from more than 50,000 news sources worldwide, groups similar stories together, and displays them according to each reader's interests."
  • MORE RESOURCES
  • Newspaper Research in the UB Libraries
    PROVIDES LINKS TO AND INFORMATION ABOUT:
    -Current and Contemporary Newspapers
    -Historical Newspapers
    -Other News Sources
  • Help! - Ask a Law Librarian
    Consult a librarian via chat, text, email, phone or in person!
 

Please send us feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Business Databases

  • Business Source Complete  Icon
    Business Source Complete indexes more than 4,100 journals, including nearly 3,300 full-text titles. Many of the full-text items are also available as scanned images. Topics cover nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.
  • COMPANY PROFILES
  • Hoover’s  Icon
    Hoover's provides directory listings and brief profiles for millions of public and private companies worldwide.
    Coverage varies. More detailed information can be found for publicly-traded companies and for larger private companies; less information for smaller firms.
    Search by company name; or use the "Build a List" feature to find companies that meet specified characteristics (location, industry, size, etc.).
    Basic listings provide address, contact information, type of business, and other basic directory data. Detailed listings include background on officers, summary of operations, company history, list of competitors, news stories, and a financial summary.
  • Mergent Online  Icon
    Mergent Online provides current profiles of U.S. and international publicly-traded companies. Profiles include a business summary, recent news, up to 15 years of financial data, institutional holdings, inside owners, subsidiaries, major competitors, and more. Users can also find reports on "Inactive" companies (firms which were formerly publicly-traded but which no longer exist or are no longer public). Results can be imported into spreadsheets or users can create customized print reports.
    Users can also access detailed Dun & Bradstreet reports on leading private companies. As an added feature, Mergent Online includes extensive Country Reports providing economic profiles for major countries of the world
  • Mergent Webreports  Icon
    Mergent WebReports is an online database that allows you to access a vast archive of corporate and industry related documents. WebReports contains more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries using an easy to navigate and reliable system.
  • Factiva  Icon
    Company Screening is one of several major services Factiva offers.
    Click on the Company Screening Tab to create a customized list of public companies by industry, location, size, and/or performance measures. For any company, retrieve an extensive financial profile, an industry comparison report, or selective financial analysts' reports.
  • SEC FILINGS
  • Edgar  Icon
    EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
    The actual annual report to shareholders (except in the case of investment companies) need not be submitted on EDGAR, although some companies do so voluntarily. However, the annual report on Form 10-K or 10-KSB, which contains much of the same information, is required to be filed on EDGAR.
  • Mergent Online  Icon
    Mergent Online provides current profiles of U.S. and international publicly-traded companies. Profiles include a business summary, recent news, up to 15 years of financial data, institutional holdings, inside owners, subsidiaries, major competitors, and more. Users can also find reports on "Inactive" companies (firms which were formerly publicly-traded but which no longer exist or are no longer public). Results can be imported into spreadsheets or users can create customized print reports.
  • MORE RESOURCES
  • Business & Management Resources in the UB Libraries
    Links to databases offering a variety of materials related to business, finance and management and related subjects.
  • Help! - Ask a Law Librarian
    Consult a librarian via chat, text, email, phone or in person!

Legal Databases

  • STATUTES, CASES & REGULATIONS
  • FastCase  Icon
    Fastcase’s libraries include primary law from all 50 states, as well as deep federal coverage going back to 1 U.S. 1, 1 F.2d 1, 1 F.Supp. 1, and 1 B.R. 1. The Fastcase collection includes cases, statutes, regulations, court rules, and constitutions.”
  • FULL-TEXT LAW REVIEWS AND JOURNALS
  • HeinOnline - Law Journal Library  Icon
    Contains more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.
  • HeinOnline - Bar Journals  Icon
    Contains more than 100 state and local bar journals. You can search by article title, author, description, date, or across the full text of the articles.
  • Google Scholar  Icon
    Google Scholar is an easy-to-use, web-based database that indexes and and searches peer-reviewed journal articles, books, theses, preprints, and technical reports from all areas of research, including legal.
  • INDEXES TO LAW REVIEWS & JOURNALS
  • LegalTrac  Icon
    Search citations and subject terms (with some abstracts or full-text articles) to all major academic law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and major legal newspapers.
  • Index to Legal Periodicals and Books  Icon
    Leads to citations to law books and articles in law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications. Citations only.
  • MORE RESOURCES
  • Law Databases at UB (by Title)
    Links to a variety of legal databases covering US federal, US state, foreign, and international law and relate dsubjects.
  • UB Law Library Research Guides (LibGuides)
    Guides to print and online resources covering a wide variety of topics.
  • Lexis & Westlaw Public Access downtown
    The Supreme Court Law Library (8th Judicial District) located at 77 West Eagle St., Buffalo, NY 14202, offers free public access to Lexis and Westlaw. (phone: 716-845-9400)
  • Help! - Ask a Law Librarian
    Contact the reference librarians in the Law Library for assistance. They are available via phone (716-645-2047), chat, email or in person.

Charles B. Sears Law Library • O'Brian Hall • North Campus • Buffalo, NY 14260 • ph:716-645-2047
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip