Last Updated: Oct 27, 2017
- Lexis Advance
Lexis password required (Law School folks only)
- Westlaw Next
Westlaw password required (Law School folks only)
- Bloomberg Law
Bloomberg Law password required (Law School folks only)
Search these legal periodical indexes to identify relevant articles. Be creative with your search terms. Try very general as well as specific searches.
Online Legal Periodical Indexes:
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
search journals 1981-present; books 2000 to present
also available on Westlaw* and Lexis*, but known as Legal Resource Index (LRI))(1980 - present)
- Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP)
Table of Contents Service on Westlaw* only (most recent 8 weeks only)
- SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
(2000s-present) Working papers, accepted papers.
also see SSRN eJournals...
- Full-Text Online Law Review/Journal Search (ABA)
Searches the full-text of over 400 free online law reviews and law journals, plus document repositories hosting academic papers and related publications. Several are available online only.Coverage varies. Includes list of reviews/journals/document repositories which have free full-text available online, but which must be searched/browsed manually.
- Legal Journals Index (LJI)
Covers journals from the UK & Europe. On Westlaw* only (1986-present).
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)
A multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in over 500 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions. IFLP also analyzes the contents of approximately fifty individually published collections of legal essays, Festschriften, Mélanges, and congress reports each year. Covers 1984 to date.
To access the records from 1960-1983 please browse/search the Print Edition
- PAIS International (public affairs/ policy)
Indexes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, and Internet material. All areas of the social sciences, but especially social and public policy are covered. It includes publications from over 120 nations throughout the world.
These resources search across all disciplines and multiple databases
- Everything Search (search over 100 UB subscription databases at once!)
What databases are searched? Follow the links here to see.
- Academic Search Complete (multidisciplinary; full text articles)
- Google Scholar (links to full text of articles from certain UB databases. See directions for setting preferences here.
- EbscoHost Research Databases (search scores of commercial databases (many subjects) simultaneously).