This is the "Basic Resources" page of the "International Law & Human Rights: A Short Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Law & Human Rights: A Short Guide   Tags: human rights  

Last Updated: Feb 8, 2017 URL: http://lawlib.buffalo.libguides.com/humanrights Print Guide RSS Updates

Basic Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

BOOKS and Other Materials

Identify books and other materials.
Then locate them at UB, or submit Delivery+ request to obtain from another location.
Ask a librarian for help!

  • UB Online Catalog
    Use to find books and other materials in the University at Buffalo Libraries Collections.
  • E-Book Search
    Locate E-Books available at UB using the Online Catalog
  • ---------------------------------------
  • FirstSearch WorldCat
    Use to find books and other materials held by thousands of libraries in the US and worldwide. Order materials through Interlibrary Loan (Discovery+) if UB does not own.  Allow at least 3-4 weeks.
  • Google Book Search
    Use to identify potentially relevant books, and specific page numbers within books. Then, check to see if the book is available in the Library, or order it via Discovery+ (Inter-Library Loan).
  • Library Online catalogs from around the world
    Allow several weeks for Interlibrary Loan if UB does not own the materials. Ask a reference librarian for assistance.
  • Library of Congress Online Catalog
    Also try searching the Primo Central database here
    (single search for articles and ebooks in selected subscription and free resources available at LC).

Encyclopedias

 

 

Treaties and Laws

Here is a selective list of sites useful for locating  international conventions (treaties) and laws of other countries.

Treaty Resources 

Electronic Information System for International Law (EISIL – ASIL)
http://www.eisil.org/

U. Minnesota Human Rights Library - Treaties
http://www1.umn.edu/humanrts/treaties.htm

Audiovisual Library of the United Nations (research portal)
http://www.un.org/law/avl/
Click on "Research Library," then "Treaties".
Includes links to Collections maintained by the United Nations, other international organizations, states, and other entities.

United Nations Treaty Collection
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/untreaty.html
Full text of treaties; status of treaties deposited with UN Secretary-General.

World Treaty Index
http://worldtreatyindex.com/

FLARE Index to Treaties (Institute of Advanced Legal Studies)
http://193.62.18.232/dbtw-wpd/textbase/treatysearch.htm

African Union OAU/AU Treaties, Conventions, Protocols & Charters
http://www.au.int/en/treaties

Laws 

Foreign Law Guide (UB subscription database)
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=172

 World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII)
http://www.worldlii.org/catalog/272.html
         
Guide to Law Online (Library of Congress)
http://www.loc.gov/law/guide/

International Digest of Health Legislation (WHO) (defunct?)
http://www.who.int/idhl-rils/frame.cfm?language=english
Click on SUBJECTS; choose “Family Health” or “Human reproduction and population policies”; click on country name.  Examine other subjects as well.

Foreign and International Law Sources- Research Guides (Harvard)
http://guides.library.harvard.edu/law?subjects=show

 

Constitutions

Oxford Constitutions of the World 
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=105 
(accessible ONLY in the Law Library) A keyword searchable database containing the full text of the constitutions and introductory and comparative notes of 192 countries and 144 territories and dependencies translated into English. Also includes the full-text of the constitutions of the 50 states, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, Guam, the Marshall Islands , the Northern Mariana Islands, the Federal States of Micronesia , and the U.S. Constitution.

The Avalon project at Yale Law School : documents in law, history and diplomacy
 http://avalon.law.yale.edu/default.asp
Database of full text documents from history.  Search by category or keyword. See, The American Constitution -- A Documentary Record http://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/constpap.asp

World Constitutions Illustrated (HeinOnline) (UB Only)
http://heinonline.org/HOL/Index?collection=cow&set_as_cursor=clear

Constitute  (Google & Comparative Constitutions Project) https://www.constituteproject.org -- Exploring World's Constitutions

 

Judicial Decisions and Opinions

Decisions - Paper format

International Law Reports, 1919+ KZ 199 I58

Decisions - Online

Audiovisual Library of the United Nations (research portal)
http://www.un.org/law/avl/
Click on "Research Library," then "Jurisprudence" for links to Court websites.
Includes "Jurisprudence of International Courts, Tribunals, quasi-judicial entities and other mechanisms for the peaceful settlement of disputes "

Oxford Reports on International Law (UB only)
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=61
(click on "Oxford Reports on International Law " in left frame)

Human Rights Decisions - Paper format

Collection of Decisions of the European Commission of Human Rights (Recueil de Decisions de la Commission europeenne des droits de l'homme), 1960-1974 KJC5135.A5 E869

Decisions and reports / Council of Europe / European Commission of Human Rights
KJC5135 .A5 E87
(Decisions et rapports / Conseil de l'Europe / Commission europeenne des droits de l'homme) 1975+

Commonwealth Human Rights Law Digest K 3239.23 C66 (Ref)

Publications of the European Court of Human Rights (Publications de la Cour europeenne des droits de l'homme)

University of Nottingham, UK, International Human Rights Reports, 1994+ K 3239.23 I58 (Ref)


International Law Reports, 1919+ KZ 199 I58

Human Rights Decisions - Online

SIM Caselaw Database (University of Utrecht School of Law, Netherlands Institute of Human Rights)
http://sim.law.uu.nl/SIM/dochome.nsf/
Covering: CCPR, CAT, CERD, CEDAW, ECHR, UNCOM, General Comments, Tribunals

Commonwealth and International Human Rights Case LawDatabases (Interrights)
http://www.interights.org/database-search/index.htm
“…summaries of significant human rights decisions …, from both domestic Commonwealth courts, and from tribunals applying international human rights law such as the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, the European Court of Human Rights and many more”

European Court of Human Rights (Strasbourg)
http://www.echr.coe.int/echr/Homepage_EN

HUDOC  Database (European Court of Human Rights)
http://hudoc.echr.coe.int/sites/eng/Pages/search.aspx#
"The HUDOC database provides access to the case-law of the Court (Grand Chamber, Chamber and Committee judgments, decisions, communicated cases, advisory opinions and legal summaries from the Case-Law Information Note), the European Commission of Human Rights (decisions and reports) and the Committee of Ministers (resolutions). "1998-
      HUDOC Manual
      http://www.echr.coe.int/Documents/HUDOC_Manual_2012_ENG.pdf

 

Locate IGO and NGO Reports and Other Resources

 UNITED NATIONS

 United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
http://www.ohchr.org/EN/pages/home.aspx

            Human Rights Bodies
           
 http://www.ohchr.org/EN/HRBodies/Pages/HumanRightsBodies.aspx

            Universal Periodic Review
            ( a process involving a review of the human rights records
                of all  192 UN Member States once every  four years
. )
            http://www.ohchr.org/EN/HRBodies/UPR/Pages/UPRMain.aspx

            Thematic Mandates
            http://www2.ohchr.org/english/bodies/chr/special/themes.htm

            Global Issues on the UN Agenda
            http://www.un.org/en/sections/issues-depth/global-issues-overview/

             Universal Human Rights Index
             http://uhri.ohchr.org/

UN Women: the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women
http://www.unwomen.org/en

 WomenWatch
http://womenwatch.unwomen.org/
WomenWatch is the central gateway to information and resources on the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women throughout the United Nations system

Directory of UN Resources on Gender and Women's Issues (WomenWatch)
http://www.un.org/womenwatch/directory/UN_conferences_meetings_special_days_40.htm

 

 

Audiovisual Library of the International Law
http://www.un.org/law/avl/
A portal with many useful research links

Bayefsky.com
http://www.bayefsky.com/ 
Information on the UN human rights treaty system & its monitoring treaty bodies. Includes reports & documents from human rights treaty monitoring bodies.

EUROPE

European Commission - Gender Equality
http://ec.europa.eu/justice/gender-equality/index_en.htm

 European Union by Topic
http://europa.eu/pol/index_en.htm

European Court of Human Rights (Strasbourg)
http://www.echr.coe.int/echr/Homepage_EN

--Country Profiles 
   Factsheets on on the Court’s case-law and pending cases ORGANIZED BY COUNTRY  (compiled by The Press Service)

--Theme FactSheets 
  on the Court’s case-law and pending cases  (compiled by The Press Service)

Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (US Helsinki Commission)
http://www.csce.gov/
      Gender Equality
      http://womenwatch.unwomen.org/

 THE AMERICAS

Organization of American States
http://www.oas.org/en/default.asp

Inter-American Commission of Human Rights
http://www.oas.org/en/about/commission_human_rights.asp

Inter-American Commission of Women
http://portal.oas.org/Default.aspx?tabid=621&language=en-US

 

AFRICA

African Union
http://www.au.int/

  

OTHER IGO & NGO LINKS

Human Rights Watch
http://www.hrw.org       
Click on menu icon at top of page for TOPICS.

Human Rights NGO Links (U. Minn. Human Rights Library)
See: “SPECIFIC TOPICS OF INTEREST
http://www1.umn.edu/humanrts/links/links.htm

REFWORLD
http://www.refworld.org/

LABORDOC 1965+
http://labordoc.ilo.org/
Provides references to reports, studies and journal articles on labor relations, employment, working conditions, and related subjects. Worldwide coverage.

Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine (Google)
http://www.google.com/coop/cse?cx=006748068166572874491%3A55ez0c3j3ey

DINGO (Directory of International NGOs in China)
http://www.chinadevelopmentbrief.com/dingo/

Directory of Development Organizations (OECD)
 http://www.oecd.org/dev/pgd/directoryofdevelopmentorganizations.htm
This operation was implemented in partnership with European governmental and non-governmental organisations. It comprises a contact list of partner organizations, totalling over 8,000 entries.

Duke University NGO Research Guide
http://guides.library.duke.edu/ngo_guide

International Documents Collection (Northwestern University)
http://www.library.northwestern.edu/govinfo/resource/internat/igo.html
See List of IGOs http://libguides.northwestern.edu/IGO

NGO Global Network (click on “LINKS”)
http://ngo.org/index2.htm
List of Non-governmental organizations associated with the United Nations

‍The NGO Cafe http://www.gdrc.org/ngo/
including
---NGO Bungee Jumps http://www.gdrc.org/ngo/ncafe-bj.html
---Links to various NGO indices and resources on the internet.
     ---including
     ---NGO Databases and Directories http://www.gdrc.org/ngo/ngo-databases.html

Human Rights Education Associates - Research Centre http://www.hrea.org/index.php?base_id=101&language_id=1an "international NGO that supports human rights learning; the training of activists and professionals; the development of educational materials and programming; and community-building through on-line technologies."

Eldis ( Institute of Development Studies, Sussex ) http://www.eldis.org/
Free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. Includes over 40,000 summaries and links to full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers. See Site Map.

 Business and Human Rights Resource Centre
http://www.business-humanrights.org/

 

 

Law Journals & Law Review Indexes

Search these legal periodical indexes to identify relevant articles.  Be creative with your search terms.  Try very general as well as specific searches.

Online Legal Periodical Indexes:

    Online Indexes with Quickest CURRENT coverage:

    • Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) on Westlaw* only (most recent 8 weeks)
    • SSRN (Social Science Research Network)(2000s-present) Working papers, accepted papers.

     Online Indexes with Foreign & International Coverage:

    You can also find relevant articles and other scholarly information by searching other online databases available at UB (subject list).


    *Westlaw/Lexis access is restricted to law students only

     

    More Journal Indexes

    Go to the “Research Guides” page for UB Libraries.

    Select databases from a variety of subjects such as Law & Legal Studies, Global Gender Studies, Health Sciences, and others. These databases will lead you to journal articles and other materials. Here are just a few:

    Law & Legal Studies--International
    CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
    Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law Online

    Global Gender Studies
    Gender Watch
    Academic Search Complete

    History--World
    Historical Abstracts
    Bibliography of Asian Studies
    Dissertations and Theses

    Political Science
    International Political Science Abstracts
    PAIS International Online
    JStor
    CountryWatch
    Web of Science (includes  Social Sciences Citation Index)

    Medicine 
    Medline
    CINAHL

     To locate journals at UB (once you have a citation to an article):

     1. To find out if UB owns a particular journal, type the name of the JOURNAL (NOT the article title)
         in the UB Online Catalog as a TITLE search (click on the "Journals" button above the search box.).

     2. To find out if UB has access to a particular journal in full text ONLINE, type the name of the JOURNAL
         in Electronic Journal Holdings or “
    E-Journals

         

     

    Mega Search Engines for Journals


    • "Everything"
      Search over 100 of the University Libraries' online databases PLUS the UB Online Catalog simultaneously: CATALOG results will be in the LEFT frame; Journal ARTICLES in the RIGHT frame. Click on "more options" to filter your results.
      After using "Everything" go back in to any particularly useful databases you locate and conduct additional searches…
    • Google Scholar
      No one really knows the exact scope of this database. But it is possible to access some Google Scholar full text content by clicking through to UB's subscription databases (but first set your "scholar preferences" for "University at Buffalo" as directed).
    • EbscoHost
      Search scores of commercial databases (covering many subjects) simultaneously.

    Research Guide Portals

    News Sites

    Use Google Translation Tools to translate (transliterate, that is...) any articles in other languages.

     

    Internet Search Engines

     SPECIALIZED SEARCH ENGINES

     Human Rights Search Engine (U. Minn. & Others)
    http://www1.umn.edu/humanrts/searchgoogle.htm

     HURISEARCH (HURIDOCS)
    http://www.hurisearch.org
    Searchable database of NGO publications

    GENERAL SEARCH ENGINES

    Google http://www.google.com
    Advanced Google Search https://www.google.com/advanced_search
    Yahoo http://search.yahoo.com
    Bing http://www.bing.com/
    Others http://research.lib.buffalo.edu/internetsearchengines

     

     BLOG SEARCH ENGINES

    General

    Legal

    • BlawgSearch (Justia) http://blawgsearch.justia.com/
    • LexMonitor (LexBlog Network)
    • Global Voices Global Voices is an international community of bloggers who report on blogs and citizen media from around the world.

    Organization Directories and Search Engines (IGOs, NGOs, Think Tanks...)


    Charles B. Sears Law Library • O'Brian Hall • North Campus • Buffalo, NY 14260 • ph:716-645-2047
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip