This is the "Home" page of the "International & Foreign Sources: Just the Basics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International & Foreign Sources: Just the Basics   Tags: foreign law, international law, quickguide  

Last Updated: Sep 17, 2015 URL: http://lawlib.buffalo.libguides.com/international Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

A Few Basic Sources

INTERNATIONAL/FOREIGN LAW RESOURCES
BASIC TOOLBOX

 

INTRODUCTION

International Legal Research Tutorial (Duke/Berkeley)
http://www.law.duke.edu/ilrt/

The sources of international law are outlined in Article 38 of the Statute of the International Court of Justice (ICJ)

TREATY RESOURCES

Treaties in Force. United States. Dept. of State. Treaty Affairs Staff
(Law Ref JX 236.5 T74)
Also online: LEXIS, Westlaw, HeinOnline and http://www.state.gov/s/l/treaty/treaties/

A Guide to the United States Treaties in Force. Kavass &  Sprudzs
(Law Ref JX236.5 .T745)
Also on Hein Online http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=204

Multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General
United Nations
(Law Ref JX 171 U372a)
Also online: United Nations Treaty Collection
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/untreaty.html
Once you get to the database, click on Status of Treaties (MTDSG)
Also on HeinOnline

See Also Treaty Sources Guide (UB) http://lawlib.buffalo.libguides.com/Treaties

 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS & TREATISES

Encyclopedia of Public International Law. Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=61  (NOTE: Database accessible only IN THE LAW LIBRARY.) (earlier edition in print: Ref JX 1226 E5 1992)

Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements. Osmanczyk, Edmund Jan (Law Ref Desk KZ 4968 084 2003 )

Encyclopedia of Human Rights. David P. Forsythe (Law REF JC571 .E673 2009)
Online (available only in the Law Library): http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=467

Restatement (Third) of Foreign Relations Law. American Law Institute (Law Ref KF 4651 R47 1987)
Also online: Westlaw & LEXIS & HeinOnline http://www.heinonline.org/HOL/Index?index=ali/rethdfr&collection=ali

Gale Virtual Reference Library http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=176 Search full text of scores of encyclopedias on many subjects

DECISIONS

LEXIS

Westlaw

Audiovisual Library of the United Nations (click on Research Library; Jurisprudence)
http://www.un.org/law/avl/

International Law Reports. Butterworth & Co (KZ199 .I58)

International Legal Materials. American Society of International Law
(Law Ref JX 68 I5)
Also online: HeinOnline, LEXIS, and Westlaw.

JOURNAL INDEXES

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals. 
(Law Ref K33 .I38)
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=215

Public International Law. Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law (Law Ref JZ 5 P83)
Current online:  http://www.mpil.de/ww/en/pub/library/catalogues_databases/doc_of_articles.cfm

Legal Journals Index. (on Westlaw)
LJI database--- indexes articles from legal journals (1986+) published in the United Kingdom and Europe as well as journals covering topics pertaining to the laws of the European Community and its Member States.

Szladits’ Bibliography on Foreign and Comparative Law.
(Law Ref K 38 B536) Index to English language books and (for earlier dates) journal articles. 

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=216; also Westlaw and Lexis*


Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Retrospective http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=409


LegalTrac http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=245 (also Westlaw and Lexis, but known as Legal Resource Index (LRI))


FOREIGN LAW RESOURCES

The Foreign Law Guide.
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/foreignlawguide.html
(Print version, Foreign Law: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World by T. Reynolds & A. Flores (Law Ref K 38 R49 1989), is no longer updated.)

Martindale-Hubbell International Law Digest.
(Law Ref  KF 190 H824 )
Also on LEXIS.

Modern Legal Systems Cyclopedia. K. Redden ed. (Ref K530 .M62 1984)

Doing Business Law Library (World Bank) Business laws and regulations (full-text) from countries worldwide. Covers: Banking and Credit Laws
 Bankruptcy and Collateral Laws; Civil Codes; Civil Procedure Codes; Commercial and Company Laws; Constitutions; Labor Laws; Land and Building Laws; Privacy Laws; Securities Laws; Tax Laws; Trade Laws.

International Encyclopedia of Comparative Law. (Law REF K 530 I57)  See  basic outline of entire encyclopedia on the back cover of any paperback  issue.  Go to front of each paperback  issue for outline of contents for individual  issue. No index.

Constitutions of the Countries of the World. (Law K3157 .A2 B58)

Oxford Constitutions of the World (online)
http://oxcon.ouplaw.com/  (only in the Law Library)

World Constitutions Illustrated (http://heinonline.org/HOL/Index?collection=cow)
 HeinOnline http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=204

Foreign Databases/Collections By Jurisdiction (NYU)

FAOLEX (FAO)  national laws and regulations on food, agriculture and renewable natural resources.

FISHLEX (FAO) Coastal State Requirements for Foreign Fishing

WATERLEX (FAO) national legislation on water resources. Includes tool to compare countries.

PORTLEX (FAO) provides access to port state measures (PSM) adopted by states to prevent, deter and eliminate Illegal, Unreported and Unregulated fishing (IUU fishing).


UNITED NATIONS RESOURCES

United Nations  http://www.un.org
  Human Rights http://www.un.org/rights/
  International Law http://www.un.org/law/
  The UN’s Global Issues  http://www.un.org/issues/
  UN and Civil Society http://www.un.org/en/civilsociety/index.shtml
  UN Databases http://www.un.org/en/databases/
  UN Documents http://www.un.org/en/documents/
  UN Research Guide http://research.un.org/en/docs/
  And much more…!

Yearbook of the United Nations United Nations (covering 1946-2007+)
http://unyearbook.un.org/
(Law Ref JX 1977.A37 Y4)

United Nations Law Collection (on HeinOnline)
http://heinonline.org/HOL/Index?collection=unl
includes UN Treaty Collection, Yearbook of the United Nations, ICJ judgments and materials…and much more.


RESEARCH GUIDES

Germain's transnational law research : a guide for attorneys.  Claire M. Germain (Law Ref K 85 G47 1991)

Guide to international legal research. The George Washington journal of international law and economics.
KZ1234 .G85 (Most recent edition located in REFERENCE)


Globalex Guides  http://www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/ 
      --International, Comparative, Foreign

ASIL (American Society for International Law) http://www.asil.org/


LLRX Guides http://www.llrx.com 
      --International Law Guides  http://www.llrx.com/category/857  
      --Comparative and Foreign Law Guides  http://www.llrx.com/category/1050


MORE USEFUL LINKS

Audiovisual Library of the United Nations
http://www.un.org/law/avl/

Foreign and International Law Websites (UB links)
http://libweb1.lib.buffalo.edu/infotree/resourcesbysubject.asp?subject=Law+-+Foreign+and+International

Basic Research Tools (UB Research Guide)
http://lawlib.buffalo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=379742


Charles B. Sears Law Library • O'Brian Hall • North Campus • Buffalo, NY 14260 • ph:716-645-2047
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip